Grilled Chicken

Everybody around here thinks it’s the best grilled chicken.
I made this chicken a couple of years ago for a Memorial Day family get together. It was a hit. Some wanted the recipe and some wanted an invite the next time I make it.

Lazy bums!

It’s pretty easy to make, even though it has a lot of ingredients. Here’s what you need…


And you need 10 lbs. of chicken. I buy the 10 lb. bag of leg quarters and separate the leg and thigh. Then I boil it till done, but not falling off the bone.

I think it’s easier to precook it and marinade it.
Chicken takes so long to cook on the grill and it burns easily.

A family member recently requested this chicken for a birthday party. Asking if The Captain would bring his chicken.
What?!
When did it get to be The Captain’s chicken?
I’m the one who introduced this chicken to everyone.

It’s my chicken!

I think they should give credit where credit is due! Right? Or am I being overly sensitive?
The Captain’s chicken! I don’t think so!
If it’s gonna be The Captain’s chicken, then he should do the shopping, separating, boiling, measuring, marinade making, turning and putting in the fridge!

Right?

Now that I’ve gotten that off my chest and stepped down from my Soap Box, I’ll finish the recipe. Geez!

Next, I mix up the marinade’s 11 ingredients in a large container.

Don’t look so hot like this, huh?

You gotta stir it!


Next, add the hot chicken, turning to coat the chicken.

 

No I didn’t take the skin off. So, sue me!

Then put a lid on it and put it in the refrigerator for a couple of days. Turn it a couple of times a day to re-coat the chicken with the marinade.

The Captain cooks, basically reheats, it on the grill. He bastes the chicken with the marinade as it cooks (reheats).


This is a great dish for a large get together. And so far, I haven’t found anyone who doesn’t like it.

A couple of my family members don’t like chicken. But they have requested this at their get togethers and have also requested the recipe.
The Captain’s chicken? Sheesh!
Oops, I guess I still have one foot on the Soap Box.
I’ll step down now and tell you where the recipe really came from.
I found this recipe in Taste of Home Magazine’s, August/September 2004 issue.
Gotta give credit where credit is due!!!

One of these days I’ll figure out how to make those cool printable recipes.

Grilled Thighs and Drumsticks

2-1/2    cups packed brown sugar

       2    cups water

       2    cups cider vinegar

       2    cups ketchup

       1    cup vegetable oil (I use, canola)

       4    Tbsp. salt

       3    Tbsp. prepared mustard

4-1/2    tsp. Worcestershire sauce

       1    Tbsp. soy sauce

       1    tsp. pepper

       1    tsp. Liquid Smoke, optional

      10    10 lbs. chicken thighs and drumsticks

 Seperate thighs and drumsticks. Boil till done, but not falling off the bone. Mix together first 11 ingredients in a large container. Add boiled chicken and refrigerate. Let marinate a day or two. Grill, covered, over indirect medium heat until heated throughout. And serve.

Yield: 12-14 servings.

3 comments on “Grilled Chicken

  1. This sounds wonderful. I took the Title Captain as being you. Maybe you have been given a commision in the chicken cooking army.

    And, if it’s being requested, you must be a pretty good cook.

  2. It looks delicious! I like dishes that you can prepare part of them ahead-that way it doesn’t seem so rushed when you are going to serve it. Especially if you have to take it somewhere.

    I’m going to show this one to The Deer Hunter-I bet he tries it!

  3. Pingback: Saucy Sunday – Smoked Chicken « Twisted Fencepost

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

