Just Hanging Around

Hi there Fencepost Friends!

It’s been awhile. How are you?

I imagine you are like me, still hanging on and waiting to see what comes next. (sigh)

Soooo, since we are all just hanging around, let’s talk about what we’ve been up to over the past couple of years.

Me, personally, mostly working and trying to squeeze in any kind of personal time I can find. Currently we are remodeling our master bath; bigger shower, new paint, new floors, new vanity, new mirror with medicine cabinet and a soaker tub. Oh, and a new window. Toilet was replaced a few years back. Pretty much the whole bathroom will be overhauled. One of our goals is to look into the future for when we are older and possibly do not motivate well. Possible wheelchair or walker issues, because we never know what the future holds. We are widening doorways and making things more accessible. Which is why we chose a larger shower that also has a bench seat.

I CANNOT wait for this to be completed! I am not good with big projects. They take too long and things are in constant disarray. That is not good for my self-diagnosed OCD.

We finally have the shower installed and usable. That is a big plus. We will also be building new cabinets for towels and such but those will come after the bigger things are in place and we see what space is left over, if any. (lol)

I am still gardening, although the last couple of years my garden has not done well and I am frustrated. The soil here is less than desirable and I just don’t have the time I need to work with it. I have built raised beds, filled a worn out water trough and an old cast iron bathtub with a mixture of garden soil and composted manure.

I have been leaning toward planting as much edible landscaping as possible. Things like herbs, fruit trees and fruit bushes.. If I can find the time I may begin the garden update series again. I hope you can join me as I post about my successes and failures in the garden.

I have also been trying to learn as much as I can about herbal medicine and identifying the items that grow wild here at our farm. Learning what is edible and what is not. What is medicinal and what is not. How to make tinctures, balms, lotions and such. I am very interested in learning to make shampoo and soap.

I have also returned to canning and preserving. Something that never crossed my mind previously was that if it is available in-store already canned then I can also can it. Fresh! And I know what is in it. They are slowly killing us with all of those unnecessary chemicals.

Why?

Just why?

Not to mention the chemicals in pill form they have convinced a lot of us that we need. I have always believed that God gave us what we need to heal ourselves, we just need to find it. I know that there are times when things are necessary, but I believe that we need to spend more time investigating the cause of the most issues instead of just treating symptoms.

So, in a nutshell that is in-part what I have been up to. What have you been up to? And if you have any ideas or suggestions that you think may help me along my garden/herbal journey please do not hesitate to share.

Oh, and if you have any ideas on how to retire early…. I am all ears!

Happy Thursday, TFP 😉

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!