Saucy Sunday – Garlic Bread

I have a weakness for breads.

Usually, yeast breads. But garlic bread is a favorite also.

When eating pasta, I must have garlic bread. It’s also a treat when eating steak and potatoes.

I used to have the time to make garlic butter and spread on the bread.

But since going back to work, I look for quicker ways to prepare things.

Here’s how I make garlic bread…

Pick up a loaf of Italian bread at the grocery store.

grlcbrd11

Preheat oven to 400F.

Cut the bread in half, lengthwise.

grlcbrd21

Place it on a baking sheet.

Smother it with butter. The sprinkle on garlic powder and dried oregano leaves. How much you sprinkle, depends on your taste. I like a LOT of garlic and oregano.

grlcbrd41

grlcbrd31

Bake in center of oven for approximately 15 minutes. I usually touch it to see if it’s crusty.

Then slice into individual servings.

grlcbrd51

And enjoy with your favorite pasta dish. We like this so well, I may never go back to making garlic butter.

And it’s cheaper than the frozen kind.