Saucy Sunday – Garlic Bread

I have a weakness for breads.

Usually, yeast breads. But garlic bread is a favorite also.

When eating pasta, I must have garlic bread. It’s also a treat when eating steak and potatoes.

I used to have the time to make garlic butter and spread on the bread.

But since going back to work, I look for quicker ways to prepare things.

Here’s how I make garlic bread…

Pick up a loaf of Italian bread at the grocery store.

grlcbrd11

Preheat oven to 400F.

Cut the bread in half, lengthwise.

grlcbrd21

Place it on a baking sheet.

Smother it with butter. The sprinkle on garlic powder and dried oregano leaves. How much you sprinkle, depends on your taste. I like a LOT of garlic and oregano.

grlcbrd41

grlcbrd31

Bake in center of oven for approximately 15 minutes. I usually touch it to see if it’s crusty.

Then slice into individual servings.

grlcbrd51

And enjoy with your favorite pasta dish. We like this so well, I may never go back to making garlic butter.

And it’s cheaper than the frozen kind.

9 comments on “Saucy Sunday – Garlic Bread

  1. This is the way I make it as well. I sometimes use dry parsley and Parmesan too. Yum but i agree with Rottlady. My waistline does not love that bread and you can tell.

  2. Darn, wish I would have had that yesterday at lunch, didn’t have time to run to grocery for either garlic bread sticks or bread, and we had spaghetti. But everyone managed without. Also didn’t have any green olives, our one daughter and myself like green olives thrown on our spaghetti after we put the sauce over it. I didn’t know at the time but we had two extra people at lunch time, making a total of six of us eating. Then after the dishes were done, we played several games of yatchee.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

