Sign Experiment

Tipper, author of Blind Pig and the Acorn, has rallyed up a group of gardeners to assist her in an experiment she’s conducting.

The experiment is to determine if planting under the sign really makes a difference.

crneprmnt1

The first phase of the experiment is to plant corn on the predicted day to plant for the best harvest. Under the sign of Cancer/Crab. With the best day being June 23rd.

Yesterday, after tilling up a spot, or should I say retilling up a spot.

The spot where my strawberries were to be growing.

Did I tell you that not one of my strawberry plants survived? Or even came up?

Never again will I buy those packaged dormant strawberry plants.

From now on, I will be buying those plants in pots that are already growing.

Grrrrrrrrrr!

Anyway, back to the experiment.

I planted my corn on June 23rd.

cornxprmnt2

See those little pink things all in a row?

That’s the seeds, supplied by Tipper, for the experiment.

Next, we’ll be planting in the sign that is the least favorable time to plant.

To be continued…………

14 comments on “Sign Experiment

  1. Don’t feel too bad about your strawberries, because you are not alone! I had the same thing happen. Not one of the bareroot stock strawberry plants I bought came up. It will be interesting to see how the corn experiment goes!

  2. see, i’m gone for a while, and miss all the fun stuff!!

    my strawberries did great this year, but i’ve never tried dormant plants–thanks for the tip. or anti-tip.

    everytime we’ve planted corn, it was great to see the plants, and listen to them rustle in the breeze, but the critters got most of the corn . . .

  3. How fun! I missed that on Tipper’s blog–probably during my schedule-imposed break. I don’t have enough room for corn here anyway, but I’m looking forward to watching the progress. (Bummer about the strawberries.)

  4. I’ve never had any luck with strawberries. I wish I knew where some wild ones where-the ones from my childhood can’t be found now.

    I’m so glad you got the corn planted!!! Can’t wait to see what we discover-thank you for playing along!!

  5. Hey, Becky… I’m doing the experiment and I got my first batch planted and watered in. I know we’ll have to pour the water to it but I think it will be fun. I also got my okra planted on the same day. I figured it will be good day for the okra, too, since it’s an above the ground crop. I’ll have to take some pictures of my garden and post them before long.

    Helen

  6. Interesting. Let us know what happens. I planted strawberries one year with the runners from a couple of hanging potted strawberry plants. They multiplied until I had many.

  7. Pingback: Sign Experiment – Phase 2 « Twisted Fencepost

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!