No Pain?

Have  you ever injured yourself, but didn’t feel the pain?

I have.

When I was 10 years old, my Mom and I had went out for ice cream. That was one of her favorite things to do.

Occasionally, on a Friday, after work, she would call me before she left and tell me to be ready cause we were going to Dairy Queen for an ice cream cone.

Everytime I go to Dairy Queen now, I have good memories of Mom and I sitting in the car eating an ice cream cone.

It was dark. We pulled up in the driveway, got out of the car and started inside. Well, she did anyway.

I was stuck. (????)

I couldn’t go anywhere. Some invisible force was holding me beside the car.

It was a baby blue and white Mercury Montego. Remember those?

When I turned back to the car door to find out what was holding me, I realized my pinkie finger on my left hand had been smashed in the door.

AHHHHHHH!

I began screaming for Mom to open the door. She was on the other side of the car, in the dark, and had no idea why I was screaming.

I thought the door was locked and I couldn’t open it from my side.

I felt no pain. It was just the fact that I could see that my finger was smashed inside the door.

I panicked!

I’m pulling and screaming and she is freaking out, trying to understand exactly what was happening to her youngest child.

At this point, she is halfway in the car, I grabbed the handle and opened the door, which was NOT locked.

I grabbed my now flat, red, throbbing pinkie finger.

And ran sobbing to the front door. Into the house where I could access the damage done by that horrible monster we called a car.

The point is…

I had no idea I had just slammed the door on my pinkie finger.

Never felt a thing.

But when I seen it, I freaked out.

Oh, I had plenty of pain afterward, for weeks. I ended up losing my fingernail. Turned all black and ugly.

From then on, I made sure my fingers were well out of the way of any door.

Still do.

Ever do anything like that?

Or am I the only idiot who don’t feel the pain until I actually see the injury?

13 comments on “No Pain?

  1. I don’t think that’s ever happened to me. Not feeling pain is bad, you could be hurt and not know it. I’ve heard of people being that way. I would freak out, too. I’ve cut myself before and run to get a towel or something to hold against it, but won’t look at it for a while, because I’m afraid to see how bad it is.

  2. I slammed a car door on my finger once. It was a car that had the rear doors that opened toward the front (they don’t make them that way anymore) and someone in front slammed their door and caught my fingers aroud the center post. Ouch. It hurt and I cried for a long time…

  3. Yes, I have had that happen to my pinky too except I had a ring on it that also got smashed flat. That was a lot of fun trying to get that off. (I didn’t have to go to school that day..LOL good excuse anyway) I am a big wiennie when it comes to lil pain…But, big pain I can handle – go figure!

  4. No I’ve never had anything like that happen-where I didn’t feel pain-I’m usually a big baby when it comes to pain. Wow a real weird experience you had.

  5. all I can think is wow that must have hurt……..I too am a big baby when it comes to pain………even though I gave birth to dd with no drugs……..and she was over 8lbs

    Gill in Canada

  6. This is ugly… Think single edge razor blade, making a long cut in heavy fabric… couldn’t figure out why it wasn’t cutting. Me trying to cut the fabric with the wrong side of the razor blade. Buried the sharp side in my index finger. Had to close my frame shop and go get stitches. Didn’t feel a thing for a minute. But the main thing is I didn’t bleed on the fabric or the art work.

    You asked.

    Helen

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!