No Pain?

Have  you ever injured yourself, but didn’t feel the pain?

I have.

When I was 10 years old, my Mom and I had went out for ice cream. That was one of her favorite things to do.

Occasionally, on a Friday, after work, she would call me before she left and tell me to be ready cause we were going to Dairy Queen for an ice cream cone.

Everytime I go to Dairy Queen now, I have good memories of Mom and I sitting in the car eating an ice cream cone.

It was dark. We pulled up in the driveway, got out of the car and started inside. Well, she did anyway.

I was stuck. (????)

I couldn’t go anywhere. Some invisible force was holding me beside the car.

It was a baby blue and white Mercury Montego. Remember those?

When I turned back to the car door to find out what was holding me, I realized my pinkie finger on my left hand had been smashed in the door.

AHHHHHHH!

I began screaming for Mom to open the door. She was on the other side of the car, in the dark, and had no idea why I was screaming.

I thought the door was locked and I couldn’t open it from my side.

I felt no pain. It was just the fact that I could see that my finger was smashed inside the door.

I panicked!

I’m pulling and screaming and she is freaking out, trying to understand exactly what was happening to her youngest child.

At this point, she is halfway in the car, I grabbed the handle and opened the door, which was NOT locked.

I grabbed my now flat, red, throbbing pinkie finger.

And ran sobbing to the front door. Into the house where I could access the damage done by that horrible monster we called a car.

The point is…

I had no idea I had just slammed the door on my pinkie finger.

Never felt a thing.

But when I seen it, I freaked out.

Oh, I had plenty of pain afterward, for weeks. I ended up losing my fingernail. Turned all black and ugly.

From then on, I made sure my fingers were well out of the way of any door.

Still do.

Ever do anything like that?

Or am I the only idiot who don’t feel the pain until I actually see the injury?