Saucy Sunday – Blueberry Muffins

Do you like blueberries?

Or blueberry muffins?

My family and I love blueberry muffins, which explains why I planted blueberry bushes last spring.

I normally buy the boxed blueberry muffin mix, the one with the crumble tops. But I figured if those were delicious, homemade would be even better. This began a search for a blueberry muffin recipe.

I made this recipe that I’m about to share with you. They are delicious, but they need a couple of things that I’ll explain later.

First, you need to gather the ingredients and turn the oven on to 400 degrees to preheat.

3 cups self-rising flour

1-1/2 cups sugar

1 cup buttermilk

1/2 cup vegetable oil

2 eggs, lightly beaten

2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries.

In a bowl, combine the flour and sugar. In another, large, bowl, combine the buttermilk, oil and eggs. Stir in dry ingrediets just until moistened.

STOP HERE!

When I mixed in the dry ingredients the batter was more of a dough and less of a batter. Very thick. So I added water. I didn’t measure it. I suggest you start with one half cup water and add in one fourth cup water until you get the desired batter consistency.

Fold in blueberries. NOTE: If using frozen blueberries, DO NOT THAW before adding to the batter.

This recipe makes three dozen muffins, so get out ALL your muffin (cupcake) pans.

You can grease the pans or use paper cupcake cups (as I do).

Fill each cup two-thirds full and bake at 400 degrees for 14-18 minutes or until golden brown.

Let the muffins sit five minutes before removing from pans.

Now, for the things these blueberry muffins need, in my opinion.

The first thing my son asked was, “Where’s the crumbly top?” That’s his favorite part.

I didn’t have a recipe for a crumbly top, so if any of you have a recipe for the crumbly top for muffins, my son would be grateful.

Second, the batter needs a blueberry flavoring added. Do they make blueberry flavoring? If so, where would I find it?

So if you like blueberry muffins, try this recipe.

And if you have any tips or tricks to add to make them more delicious please add them in the comments for all to see.