Catch Up – June 2016

Hi there, my friends! I hope that all is going well in your neck of the woods.

What have you been up to? I’d love to know!

Since I don’t get to visit here often I thought I would catch up with you and let you know what it is that keeps me busy besides the everyday stuff. I think I’ll make a new  category and label it Catch Ups, since that seems to be all I seem to find time to do. Not just here but in most aspects of my life. Sigh….

It’s okay though. A busy life is a full life. One day there will come a time when I won’t be able to be so busy, so for now I’ll just keep chugging along, one day at a time and try to remember to enjoy each minute.

Previously I told you how I had rekindled a passion. Well let me tell ya that it has gone beyond the kindling stage and is now a roaring fire. In a kinda, sorta, kinda way….

Sewing has always been a hobby, but not one that I had ever taken seriously.

I took spells.

I made pillows, made repairs to clothing, made kitchen curtains once….really just small stuff. But now, I have made all kinds of things and thanks to friends and family that list just keeps getting longer. I get requests to make things all the time. .

Like this for instance…..

My most recent, which I completed just yesterday,

TFP616EOilKeeper1

is a special request for an essential oil keeper.

TFP616EOilKeeper2

I made it for a friend who has been studying essential oil for several years.

TFP616EOilKeeper3

She’s an on-the-go lady and needed something to keep her oils in when she is out and about with the Japanese Knot Bag that she requested I make her a few months ago. It needed to hold about 10 bottles and roll up small enough to fit in the Japanese Knot Bag.

I don’t have pics of the one I made for her, but in case you’re curios about what a Japanese Knot Bag is, here is a pic of one of the others I have made.

TFP616JKnot

Now she can roll the oils up in her keeper then tie it up and be ready to go.

My friends have really put my sewing skills to the test and I am loving every second of it.

If I don’t have a pattern…. I make one. I have even impressed myself. I keep telling “The Captain” and others that he and everyone else have too much confidence in my skills. The reply I get from them is…”Pffft, I know you can do this!”. And so I set about to figure it out. I haven’t ran across anything I cannot figure out.

Yet.

I have told others that some people can look at a house and know how it is built. One board at a time. Others can look at a car and know how it goes together and what makes it run. Me…I can look at something made of fabric and piece by piece figure out how it was made. Different people have different gifts. This is mine.

I have also made quite a few eye pillows.

TFP616EyePillow

They are rice filled cotton pouches that you can use warm or cold. I keep one in the freezer at all times. My eyes get tired after a long day working on the computer and and it’s so soothing to lie down with that cold eye pillow across my eyes.

Making those led to making them with dried rosemary, eucalyptus or lavender mixed in with the rice. Talk about relaxation!

Then that got me to thinking about the kids. How can I make one just for them? And the idea for Boo Boo Pouches came to life. Rice filled cotton pouches in shapes.

Boo Boo Kitty

TFP616BooKitty

Boo Boo Bear

TFP616BooBear

Boo Boo Owl

TFP616BooOwl

Every time I create something new, I make a pattern for it because I know that someone else will want one. Also, I can tweak the pattern if needed once I evaluate the completed project.

Another hobby of mine is crochet. I have been looking for a pair of warm weather house shoes, slippers, bedroom shoes….whatever you call them. Not too heavy and with a sole. So if I need to step outside I can without worry. I haven’t been able to find what I was looking for. So I created it with a pair of cheap flip flop soles.

TPF616FF2

I cut the straps off.

TFP616FF1

Poked holes and crocheted away.

See the seafoam green yarn at the top of the next picture?

TFP616FF3

There is also a pair of matching flip flops and they are next in line. I think I’ll do these a little differently. You know, spruce them up a bit. I’ll post pics when they’re finished.

I LOVE these things! So much better than anything I could have found in the retail world.

So anyway, that’s what I have been doing in between working, cooking, cleaning…. And on my lunch hour. Yeah, my mind stays in creation mode these days.

How about you?

What have you been up to?

Made anything lately?

Please share! I am always looking for new ideas!!

Happy Wednesday!

TFP 😉

 

2 comments on “Catch Up – June 2016

  1. So clever! What fun to find your talent and run with it! So great to see you back in blogland, even if its not often.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

