Fireplace Swag

About 3 years ago I created this swag to hang over my fireplace to add a little more decoration at Christmas time.

tfp214swag4

Sorry for the image quality!

I liked the swag so much that I left it there all winter and into the summer when I decided it was too Christmasy and put it away.

I had seen this idea somewhere and loved it so I had to recreate it.

I already had plenty of red and green fabric and a spool of mop string so I began ripping fabric into about 6″ strips.

tfp214swag1

The tying them with an overhand knot to a length of mop string with a loop on each end that was measured to fit my fireplace.

Somewhere I had bought this string that had cute little knit caps hanging from it.

tfp214swag2

So I got the bright idea to hold it alongside the mop string and tie the fabric strips around it too.

tfp214swag3

It’s really adorable and I love it hanging there giving the fireplace a pop of color during the Christmas holiday, besides just the stockings hanging there.

Next year I’ll probably find a strand of white lights to blend in to brighten it up even more.

Because I tire of it about the time spring rolls around I have decided to make another for winter.

tfp214swag5

This one is mostly blues, whites, yellows, brown, and black with a little offwhite and red mixed in.

tfp214swag6

As you can see I also incorporated some blue lights among the fabric strips.

tfp214swag7

I really like it hanging there with the cutting board chalk board I made.

I’m thinking this spring I will make one for spring/summer and then another for fall.

I’m really looking forward to the fall colors (oranges, browns, reds, yellows……).

This way I can change it out for the seasons and I’ll never tire of any one swag.

I’m sure I’ll be looking forward to each season’s change.

So that’s what I’ve been up to lately. Not that I get much time for crafting, but this was a quick creation that I could put down and pick up when I had a minute or two.

What have you been up to?

Happy Monday!!

TFP  🙂

3 comments on “Fireplace Swag

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

