Another Saturday Snippet

Good mornin’, Team Fencepost!

And happy Saturday to ya!

I thought I’d stop in and give you a snippet since I haven’t been around blogland in awhile.

I apologize for my absense. There are only so many hours in a day and I must sleep sometime.

This has been a busy summer here on the farm. I’ve already told you about the whole 50-60 hour work weeks for me, which, by the way, has died down now and I’m back to 40 hour work weeks. The extra money was much needed, but I’m thankful that work is slowing. I have much to do here on the farm and things have been neglected for far too long.

We’ve had a time just keeping up with the mowing this year. Normally, we are drought stricken but not this year. Each week we’ve had just enough rain to keep things growing at a steady pace. To do all of our mowing it takes one person 3-4 hours of continuous mowing. As busy as we stay, we mow a section, have to stop, shower and take off to somewhere or someone who needs our attention. In other words, our yard rarely gets all the mowing done at once. But it gets done. It’s not like we live in a neighborhood where we have to worry about some homeowners association sending us nasty letters.

On another note my oldest son and his family has just moved back to town and we are enjoying their company. Now I have all of my kids and grandkids here in the same town. It’s a good feeling and I’m looking forward to spending lots of time with all of us together.

High school football season has started and my youngest is playing football for the first time in his life. When he decided to play last spring he didn’t realize the intense training he would have to endure over the summer. But it has been good for him. It kept him busy over the summer and is in the best physical shape ever. I’m looking forward to the JV and Varsity games this year. It’s something I missed out on in my high school years. Maybe I’ll tell you about that one of these days.

My daughter is in nursing school and has just started the clinical studies. In just a few more semesters she will have completed her classes. It has been a long hard road for her but she can now finally see the light at the end of the tunnel.

We have been super busy around here and we don’t see it slowing any time soon. But I am thankful for a full life and the good health to be able to enjoy each minute. Each morning I pray to God to keep my family and friends safe and healthy. I think those two things are the most important. And each night I thank him for answering that prayer.

I try to keep Twisted Fencepost updated but if we aren’t on the run, my Captain is sleeping due to his strange, ever changing work schedule. My computer is in my bedroom and I worry that the light and my tapping away on the keyboard will keep him awake. So I wait.

Just wanted to give you a little update of life here at Twisted Fencepost.

With summer winding down I’ll try to be not so absent from here. I really do miss all of you!

Now, I’m off to get an oil change and tire rotation on my truck, my hair did, the weekly grocery shopping and who knows what else will pop up. On the backburner I must complete a potholder that I promised for a friend and a skirt for work needs a little work, oh and that button that popped off needs to be sewn back on…….

Happy Saturday!

Praying that you and your family stay safe and healthy!

TFP 🙂

3 comments on “Another Saturday Snippet

  1. So fun to read about the goin’ ons in your neck of the woods, Becky! Just think of mowing your lawn like painting the Golden Gate Bridge…when you finish the final section, it is time to start the first one again. How wonderful to have your babies and their babies in the area again. I know I am raising mine to leave the nest, but I fear I will be a mess. I cried when my son took his Senior pics yesterday! Have a great day!

  2. You sound good, and that makes me happy. I am deliberately trying to slow down. We can become train wrecks when we don’t. I am glad you are working less hours so you can enjoy the rest of your summer, and your children and grandchldren. XOXO Mary

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

