2012 Garden Report 7

Time for another garden report!

First cucumber of the year!!

And it was delicious! Each year the Captain and I have a tradition; we always share the first cucumber. Oh, and I’ll let you in on a little secret.

The seeds for this year’s planting came from a cucumber that I grew last year. And last year’s seeds came from Tipper. They were sent to me so that I could participate in the 2011 Planting by the Signs Test that Tipper hosts each year. I liked those cucumbers so much I saved the seeds for this year. I didn’t get to participate in this year’s sign test for different reasons. One was that I didn’t have the garden area ready in time to get the seeds planted on the test dates. And the other is that the seeds were crushed by the post office machines.  But Tipper has forgiven me and we both look forward to next year’s sign test. Here’s the link for the 2012 Planting by the Signs Test if you’d like to follow along with Tipper.

We also have green beans!

Not many, just a handful. But ya gotta start somewhere.

The corn patch is looking good so far.

I am hoping the critters don’t find the cornpatch this year. Keep your fingers crossed!!!

And this is a volunteer plant that popped up in one of the gardens this year.

It looks like a watermelon plant to me.

What do you think?

Happy Monday!

TFP 🙂

3 comments on “2012 Garden Report 7

  1. I was going to say, that plant is a melon of some sort.

    Fresh cucumbers are wonderful as a snack. Wash, chill, and eat. Yum.

    You are way ahead of us northerner’s with your garden. But, you will not be seeing mine until I weed!

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

