Mom’s Creations

I lost my Mother 6 years ago this month and some days I miss her so much.

She was a prim and proper lady. She had rules that she followed. Things like you only wear white between Memorial Day and Labor Day. After that they were taboo. We butted heads on that one often because I LOVED my white painter’s pants. Remember those? How many of you had white painter’s pants that you wore till they were threadbare?

I have told you before of how I taught her to crochet. It was not an easy task because she was left handed and I was right handed. But it gave her a lifetime to create.

And now I run across those pieces that she spent so many hours creating while she watched her “stories” (soap operas) as she called them.

Different colors. Although the white out numbers the other colors by a landslide.

Different shapes. Mostly granny square though.

Piles of them that she crocheted and never made anything with.

These are probably 15 years old because she made them before she lost her sight. Still in the plastic bags she packed them in and still in as good of condition as when she first made them.

I preferred to crochet with yarn. She preferred crochet thread.

Still I am left with all of these. And I want to do something with them, I just don’t know what.

I thought about a Christmas tree skirt, but most of them are square.

And most of them are 2 to 3 inches in diameter.

What would you do with them?

Team Fencepost, give me some ideas!

Happy Tuesday!

TFP 🙂