Lemon Snippet

A few months ago I bought a bag of organic lemons to make lemonade. I did a little research and found that you can freeze lemonade in batches to save for homemade lemonade anytime you want it. How cool is that? You can’t do that with orange and grapefruit juices.

Then I got the bright idea that since I like to grow things, why not try to grow my very own lemon tree? So I saved a few of the seeds from one of the organic lemons and began to research growing lemon trees in South Carolina.

It seems that they don’t do well over winter here unless that are very protected. That didn’t stop me. I planted one of the seeds anyway just to see if it would sprout.

And look…..

It did sprout!

Knowing how some trees need another to pollinate with I decided to plant another seed. It hasn’t sprouted yet, but I have faith that it will.

Then I will have two lemon trees. Yay! More lemons for lemonade!

When the trees become too big for the house I will need to build them a greenhouse or find some other source to protect them from winter. But until then I will just concentrate on keeping them happy and healthy.

Have any of you ever planted a lemon tree or grew one from a seed?

How big do they get?

Tell me your experiences, good or bad.

Happy Saturday!

TFP 🙂

16 comments on “Lemon Snippet

  1. Grew up in Hawaii and we always had lemons year round from the yard, now the problem with seeds is that like your children you never know how they will taste. With citrus fruits and apples every seed will produce a unique one of a kind fruit and it takes 5 years plus before they fruit, take a taste and decide if it is a keeper, and only one in thousands could be a keeper for commercial use with traits you want, sweet, tart, small, oval, seedless, etc.. If it is a keeper you can proliferate it by grafting them on citrus saplings grown from a seed. Here is a link:
    http://tilz.tearfund.org/Publications/Footsteps+1-10/Footsteps+5/Grafting+citrus+trees.htm

    but as a parent you will accept the seed lemons as they are, and they are supposed to be sour.

  2. Never grown one from seed but it would be fun. They grow bushy like an orange tree and can be pruned into a shape you enjoy. Beware, though, lemon tree branches have thorns like spikes…seriously a couple inches long and can cause your some damage if not careful. Boy..I sure made this sound like a fun adventure, huh? LOVE, LOVE,LOVE fresh lemon juice in the freeze for lemonade anytime…I just use my sister in law’s. 🙂 Happy Easter>

  3. I’m impressed with your lemon-growing ability!! I’ve never tried to grow something that doesn’t usually grow well in our area! You may have the fresh lemon-market cornered at the local farmer’s market!!

    • Thanks, Jen @ Jen’s Family! The only thing I grow that is not native are house plants that can be brought inside in the winter, so this will be a challenge. Never thought about the farmer’s market! Hmmmm…..I’ll bet I will be the only one there selling lemons for sure!

  4. Can’t wait to see how your trees turn out. I’ve never had a lemon tree-but I have heard folks here talk about having them. Like you said-they take them in when winter arrives-and bring them back out next spring.

    • Me, too, Tipper! I’ll have to curb that anticipation cause it’s gonna be awhile. There is a place in SC that sells lemon trees and I’ll be studying up on their webpage. It has lots of information.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

