2012 Garden Report 2

Someone once said that when the leaves of the pecan trees are the size of a squirrel’s ear, it’s time to plant the garden.

I think it’s time!

FINALLY!

Sorry, didn’t mean to yell. I’m just excited to get outside and do something instead of dreaming of doing something.

Every year I have the same problem while tying up my tomato plants to posts….broken branches and fallen unripened tomatoes. This year instead of tying my tomato plants to posts I am creating string tomato cages.

Here’s a picture of them now, before the tomato plants.

Kinda reminds me of the Jacob’s Ladder we used to make with string and our fingers.

I also usually have a problem with the tomato plants growing taller than my posts. This year I will snip off the tops to stop that from happening. I am thinking it will be better for the plants and hopefully increase the tomato harvest.

Anyone else snip off the tops of their tomatoes?

And last year I tried something new that I meant to tell you about.

As you know I have not been able to grow melons because critters come along and take a bite causing the whole melon to spoil.

Last year I raised them up off the ground by using cinderblocks, cedar posts, 4×4’s and chicken wire(just stuff available here on the farm). See below….

It worked really well for tricking the critters. They could smell the melons but could not find them. YAY!

So I have the tomato string cages and melon beds ready this year. And they completely take up one garden spot.

The way that little garden is placed I had to pay attention to the layout to make sure everything gets adequate sun. That’s why the tomato plants are kind of staggered instead of one behind the other. Then along the sides will be pepper plants with the short vining plants in the center, so not to shade the plants in the back of the garden.

I’m keeping my fingers crossed that this will work well.

I had previously planted two blueberry plants here on the farm. One of them did not make it through the winter and I thought that I had lost them both but I left its dead looking leafless stems alone just to see if I were wrong. And I was. Yesterday I noticed that it had leaves budding. Another YAY!

And I have no idea what this is. Looks like a squash, cucumber or melon sprout to me.

I did not plant it. No doubt a critter dropped a seed of something he stole from my garden last year. There were 4’oclocks there last year. I am hoping they will come back. But until then I’ll let this grow just to see what it turns out to be.

That’s it for this week.

How is your garden growing?

Happy Monday!

TFP 🙂

6 comments on “2012 Garden Report 2

  1. Becky,
    Thanks for sharing your 2012 garden progress with words and pictures.
    Best wishes as you plant, cultivate, care for and harvest your crop–and hope you have much good eating from what you grow!

  2. I am always so impressed with your ingenuity, Becky. I love what you did for the melons, that’s fantastic!
    I’m still contemplating on what I’m going to plant this year. I know we are going to have a super busy summer with all of the softball tournaments, so I’m thinking maybe I ought to cut way back in order to keep from overwhelming myself…
    I can’t wait to see how those tomato string cages work!

  3. Can you believe how early those leaves are that big!!! I love your melon fooler-I’m going to remember that one! I still only have spring things planted-I’m still afraid of frost 🙂

  4. Oh yes…ALWAYS trim down my tomato plants…I call it “giving them a haircut”. When you let them grow so tall and bushy all of the plant energy is used to grow the leaves and not tomatoes!!

    Lucky….being farther north we have a little while to wait before I can get into my gardens. Enjoy. Come on over and say hi.

  5. I’ve never planted my tomatoes that way before, nor have we ever topped them. We’ve only planted onions so far. Good luck with your garden.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

