It’s Important

I haven’t written about this before, but a post I read today on another blog made me realize that maybe now is the time.

As you know I lost both of my parents in 2006, just 4 weeks apart. It was a very emotional time for me and sometimes those feelings well up inside me and I relive them all again.

I knew that the Christmas of 2005 would be the last Christmas my family and I would have with my Dad. He was a very big part of all of our lives. Little did I know that it would be the last one to spend with my Mother, also.

My parents didn’t get out much, mostly due to the fact that they just didn’t have the energy. And even though they lived in a small house I knew it was important that we all needed to visit them together on Christmas, if only for a short while. I knew it would tire them quickly, but I also knew how much joy it would bring them to have a house full of people who loved them.

We talked and laughed and I don’t know who received more joy, my parents or the rest of us. But most importantly, we took pictures. Lots of them. With all of us together.

Those pictures are precious to me.

I have thousands of images stored on my computer, backed up on an external hard drive and copied to a disk. If we would have to evacuate for some reason or another and there is no time to pack up the computer, I can grab the external hard drive and/or the disks and run. Yes, they are that important to me.

I am also in the process of scanning all of my old (before digital) images and getting them on the hard drive and saved to disks.

Read this letter and you will realize why it is that I take so many pictures and why each and every one I take is important to me in some way.

And hopefully you will see just how important they really are to you.

So take them while you can because you never know what tomorrow brings.

Happy Tuesday!

TFP 🙂

4 comments on “It’s Important

  1. You are so right, Becky. I really need to do this with all of our pictures. We had a cancer scare with my sweet mamaw this year and I realized I have hardly any pictures of her. I’m going to try to start doing like you do & take my camera with me wherever I go.
    I think it’s really great that you were able to have such a nice time with your parents on the last Christmas that you had with them. That is something that not everyone gets and I’m sure is a cherished memory for you.

  2. So right! I’m so glad you made the extra effort to be with them both that last Christmas-we just don’t ever know.

    I need to do better about backing up all my stuff too.

  3. Pictures are priceless, they would be the first thing I reach for if my house was on fire. They cannot be replaced. Visits to family are special, too. They give us memories which cannot be taken away.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

