Little Did I Know

Last year I decided to see if I could predict the weather using a persimmon seed.

They say that if the seed looks like a fork you will have a mild winter or if it looks like a spoon you will have a harsh winter or if it looks like a knife you will have an icy winter.

Little did I know that I was doing it all wrong.

I didn’t know that you had to crack open the pit to actually see the seed until after I had written that post.

So this year I’m doing it again, only in the correct way, thanks to the Old Farmer’s Almanac for printing an article on the subject.

And believe me those seeds aren’t easy to get to.

So once I cracked one open without crushing the whole thing, this is what I found.

It looks like a spoon to me, which means we’ll be shoveling lots of heavy wet snow this year in the southeast.

I would like to see pictures of how the seeds look as a fork or knife.

Wouldn’t you?

Will you be cracking open a persimmon seed in your neck of the woods this year?

If so, I’d love to know what your weather prediction will be!

And please forgive me for getting it all wrong last year.

Happy Wednesday!

TFP 🙂

5 comments on “Little Did I Know

  1. I will do this as soon as I can get my hands on a persimmon…I have a souce. We are heading back toward the 90*’s again this week…I would just like something cold to look forward to this winter.

  2. Well I thought you just looked at the seed too! I’m glad you figured it out. Maybe I’ll look at one here and see if it has a spoon too.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

