Which Way Not To Go

Several years ago we built this ramp on the backside of our house to accomodate my brother, who lived with us for awhile and was wheelchair bound for the last couple of years of his life.

But that is not what this post is about, it’s just a reference.

This morning, bright and early, while listening to the birds singing, which by the way is so much more pleasant than those deafening cicadas that are now a thing of the past, I headed out to turn on the pool pump when I stopped dead in my tracks at the sight of this…..

Yes, it was that close to the house!

It was lying partially under the ramp and between the house and the ramp.

It’s the first time I’ve seen a snake of any sort that close to the house. And believe me it is a bit disconcerting.

But, when I discovered the reason for his “house call”, it reminded me of “one” of the reasons why we let the black snakes roam the farm. You see, since back in the spring we have noticed a rather large rat scurrying about in this area and we had been suspicious of where he had taken up residence. We were pretty sure that he was living under this ramp.

Well, no longer does the so-called resident rat live under that ramp. When I happened upon this snake I noticed that he had an unusually large midsection…..

At first I thought maybe the snake was stuck in place under the ramp due to the unusually large lump in his midsection…

I don’t know a lot about snakes, but I’m guessing by the placement of the “lump” he had been there awhile….digesting.

YUCK!!!

I went inside to get the close up lens to get a better look, because I wasn’t getting any closer to the snake than I already was.

He wasn’t coiled or even moving but he had his head up and was keeping an eye on me. And I’ve seen first hand just how fast a snake can coil and strike before you realize what’s happening.

When I came back, he was gone. I knew he had went under the porch because there were two mocking birds (who aren’t afraid of anything) looking for him under there. They must have chased him away. And I guess he wasn’t “stuck” afterall.

I detest not knowing in which way a snake exits, because I don’t know in which way “not” to go.

Needless to say, the pool pump didn’t get turned on. And I don’t think it will anytime soon.

And that is what is happening (or not happening) on the farm on this…..

Happy Sunday!

TFP 🙂

9 comments on “Which Way Not To Go

  1. I had a similar experience when we lived on our little ranch in mid Missouri. We apparently had a little opening around the sewer out the bathroom, and a black snake about that big had taken up residence under the tub. When my young daughter saw him he was hanging around a big mirror with a wooden frame in the next room. My son wasn’t nearly as afraid of snakes as I am, and he caught it. When he held it up outside it was about 6 ft. long. Couldn’t sleep very well for a long time after that.

  2. When we were at my dads house there was a 6ft black snake going across the yard and everyone had to go see (all 5 of us) as my dad is trying to measure it with a tape measure! .. that poor snake was heading as hard as it could or the woods.. I just imagine what it was thinking! they are measuring me to see how big of a pot they need to cook me! I out of here!

    cool pics I hope the rat does not show back up so snake will not have to make another house call!

  3. Ahh!! That’s neat that you got the picture of his bulging belly!

    We had a 5-6 foot black snake at the lake. He wasn’t aggressive at all, but he was just SO BIG. We also didn’t have a mouse problem once he showed up. But, we uh, “got rid of him”. The thought of him surprising me or someone else in the night or something was enough to end his existence.

    We do have another small black snake that lives under our air conditioner now. He’s already about 2.5 feet but still very small. Hopefully he is keeping our mice away now!!

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

