Garden Report 2011 – Week 4

Last year I tried growing a few herbs, a few of them grew nicely, others burnt up in the summer sun. When they are in direct sunlight here in the southeast and it doesn’t rain for days, that happens.

This year I’m taking a different route.

I confiscated some cinderblocks from the Captain’s stockpile and built a raised bed, just for herbs, in a place that only gets morning and daytime sun. It will be shaded from the hot evening sun.

Originally, I had planned to fill it in with soil, but the more I thought about it the less I liked that idea. I’m not sure if there will be enough sun for the herbs in this location. If not, it won’t be hard to move to a more suitable location.

Also, I wasn’t sure about putting several different herbs in this area. I know that some can completely take over and rule the bed.

I decided to start this year with recycled plastic flower pots. So I filled them with soil and sprinkled with seed, then put a thin layer of soil over the seeds and watered.

I filled the inside of the bed with grass clippings to keep the weeds at bay and sat the “herb” pots on top. I also marked each pot with what is planted inside.

Seeds planted are basil, oregano, dill, rosemary, cilantro, curled parsley, mint, chives and thyme(I’ve added a few since the picture above was taken).

Three of the pots are not herbs but flowers. In those are planted seeds sent to me by Darla (touch me not and hibiscus) and shasta daisies that I picked up at a local home improvement store. Those all may need to be transplanted later.

I left the cinderblocks with the holes pointing up for two reasons.

One, if I did fill it with soil I didn’t want it running out the holes in the block.

Two, I filled the holes in the block with grass clippings again to keep the weeds at bay, but I also added small recycled flower pots filled with soil, then I planted marigold seeds in those pots.

If the herbs don’t do well, atleast I’ll have some pretty flowers to look at.

I’ll take pictures periodically over the summer and keep you up to date on its progress.

Happy Monday!

TFP 🙂

One comment on “Garden Report 2011 – Week 4

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

