What Is That Sound?

Sometime over the winter I read an article that 2011 will be the year of the locust.

Also known as the “cicada”.

I don’t remember where I read that, but here is a very informative article.

I’ve heard that there are 17 year broods and 13 year broods.

Something I didn’t realize is that each area has it’s own individual time line for the year of the locust. Click on the link above to see when to expect the year of the locust in your area.

And according to that article this is the year for the emergence of the 13 year brood for South Carolina.

Last week, I walked outside one morning to the loudest, synchronized sound coming from the wooded side of our farm.

It had been so long since I had heard the song of the locust that I wasn’t sure was what I was hearing.

It took me a bit to recall the article and put two and two together and realize it was the song of the locust.

And even then I had to confer with a few people (including my daughter) to be convinced.

It is definitely the year of the locust on the farm. And you can hear their song any time of the night or day.

I did notice the other morning that it was a few degrees cooler and the sound of the locust was barely audible, but by the time the sun had warmed the air they were back to their loud courtship call.

To me, it is a loud annoying sound, but to a female cicada it is music and her purpose for living.

This will last approximately 4 to  6 weeks. And I’m sure that by the end of those weeks we will be thankful for their silence.

So, are the cicada singing for you right now?

Is this your year of the locust?

If this is your year and they are not singing and you live further north than South Carolina, just wait, you will hear them soon.

Happy Saturday!!!

TFP 😉

7 comments on “What Is That Sound?

  1. They are so loud at my house you can here it in my bedroom (where it is quite). So annoying! Don’t dare go outside when you have a headache because they will make it worse!

  2. We don’t have cicadas in North Dakota….but I do know what they sound like. However, the frogs are making quite a racket now…..but I love it!

  3. they’re something else, that’s for sure. I don’t think we’ll get them this year. I have ringing in my ears anyway, that gets just about as bad as the cicadas.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

