Silly Songs

One memory my children will have of me when I’m gone is of me singing silly songs.

I can hear the conversation now.

“Do you remember the songs we sang while riding in the car with Mom?”

“Oh yeah; Do you remember “As The Ants Go Marching?”

Then they’ll sing a few lines…..”As the ants go marching one by one, hurray, hurrah……”

“Or how about; Old McDonald Had A Farm?”

“Yeah, I remember, she used to add people in place of the animals and their sound would be something they say, a lot.”

“How about; There’s A Hole In The Bottom Of The Sea?”

They they’ll say something like; “I could never keep up with the words to that song.”

“And how about how she used to make things up to add to the song “If You’re Happy And You Know It?”

I know it is a fond memory of my Dad. We always sang in the car.

He taught me the words to “There’s A Hole In The Bottom Of The Sea”. And when I was a child I couldn’t keep up with the words either.

We also sang; Green, Green Grass of Home and Clementine.

My kids will have happy memories, just like the memories I carry of my Dad and our car trips. Memories that will give them that warm and fuzzy feeling everytime they hear or think of one of those songs.

I read once of a funeral that played kazoos in memory of a very much loved lady who had passed.

I love this idea!

Do you think I could get my family to sing one of our silly songs at my funeral?

Yeah, me neither.

But it was fun to imagine a whole group of people with tear stained faces trying to keep up with the words to; “There’s A Hole In The Bottom Of The Sea”.

Happy Saturday!

TFP 😉

7 comments on “Silly Songs

  1. I know of some Monkey who has fond memories of singing those songs with you also!!!! I can’t even keep up with you on the hole in the bottom of the sea song!!!! I hope you will teach our youngest family member that song some day also!!!

  2. Wonderful memories. I have never heard of “There’s a Hole in the Bottom of the Sea,” before. I remember “There was a farmer who had a dog and Bingo was his name-o!”

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

