Are You Doing What It Takes?

The Old Farmer’s Almanac, 2009 edition has a few suggestions on how to live to be 100 and beyond.

If, in fact, that is what you would like to do.

Me, personally, I’m not too sure I want to live to be that old.

I guess it would be ok, providing I was still self-efficient.

So here are their suggestions…….

  • Relax and take it easy……keep the stress to a minimum when at all possible.
  • Use your brain……read, work puzzles, play games, anything that makes you mind work.
  • Keep moving……walk, run, get up in the morning and do something and keep moving, get some exercise.
  • Be a social butterfly…..interact with people at home and outside the home. Go visit people that are unable to get out of the home. It will be good for you and them.
  • Turn that frown upside down…….watch a comedy, read a comedy, go watch a comedian, anything that gets you laughing.
  • Watch that scale……find out your ideal weight and strive to stay as close to it as possible.
  • Get some rays…..sunshine is good for you for many different reasons.
  • Spread a little sunshine…..by giving compliments and flirting with others. It will make them feel good about themselves and you will feel good because you’ve put a smile on their face.

Also mentioned in the article is additional advice from Robert B. Thomas, the founder of the Old Famer’s Almanac. In the first issue of the Old Farmer’s Almanac he suggested along with all the above suggestions to…..

  • Chew perfectly.
  • Live chastely.
  • Sleep long and soundly.

I don’t know about you but these all sound like good advice to me.

And I practice most of them daily or am in the process of changing things so that I can practice them daily.

How about you?

Are you doing what it takes to keep yourself healthy in hopes for a long life?

Happy Monday

TFP 🙂

Disclaimer: The publishers of the Old Farmer’s Almanac have no idea who I am. I only share these articles with you because I love the Old Farmer’s Almanac.

5 comments on “Are You Doing What It Takes?

  1. I have heard these suggestions before and I try to live by it. But, sometimes trying and doing are two different things. I watch Dr. Oz a lot, too. But it would be very hard to do all the things he says to do.

  2. Thank you for this! Sometimes we just need to be reminded to slow down and take it really easy..I do not live totally healthy for sure! I cook with wayyy too much butter and cream and we eat late! Ive attempted to change things but do not get far as Mickey is so used to it being that way..AND we are about 30 pds overweight because of it!

    ANYWHOO….I do work with the public and hand out the compliments to them daily…SO that is good, right?

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

