Smile – Roaring Fire

I haven’t been totally honest with you about why I have been absent from here.

I have, in the past, told you about the depression that haunts me at times.

And I have told you that I don’t write when I worry that my the unhappiness will show up in what I write.

I began this blog about a year before I was laid off from my last job. An event that happened just as this whole recession thing began.

And believe me, I know that I am not alone in the day to day worries that plague us all.

I am going to school to learn a new skill that will hopefully prevent another loss of employment. Or atleast give me what I need to be employable if history repeats itself.

I have two more semesters to complete to begin to get my foot in the door.

In the meantime, I am putting things in place in my life to get my state of mind to do an about face.

And I am beginning with this post. I began the “What Makes Me Smile” series not long after beginning this blog, and abruptly left it as my mood began to plunge with worry and stress.

Happiness is a state of mind. And I am determined to lift my spirits and hopefully yours, too, back to the positive attitude I once had.

I know there are others who would benefit by having their spirits lifted.

So won’t you join me by adding in the comments what it is that is making you smile each week?!

This week has been cold and snowy with lots of ice to follow and what has been making me smile is a roaring fire to sit by whenever I feel the chill of Old Man Winter.

Now tell me and whoever else that may be reading what it is that is making you smile this week. You never know, it may just be what someone needs to get them thinking about what will make them smile.

😉

14 comments on “Smile – Roaring Fire

  1. Yoga makes me smile this week. It feels good to stretch out and shake the cobwebs off. Winter time makes it really hard for me to exercise because I hate doing it indoors, but yoga makes me feel good and makes me feel like I’m at least doing something good for me in the winter.

  2. You make me smile with your honesty.
    Ive noticed this week on several blogs I follow that truthfullness and searching for OUR happiness has been key..and boy do I thank all of you for that!
    My animals are what make me smile daily.
    My grand ones make me smile.
    Being cozy at home makes me smile.
    Being able to read makes me smile.
    Having my grandma to talk to everyday makes me smile.
    This is what Im happy about this week.

    Thank you!

  3. I love love love a roaring fire! What else makes me smile? When my daughter laughs in her loud, totally uninhibited, no holds barred laugh — even if I’m in the downest of moods, I smile real big!

  4. I smile at the end of a long day when my children are sleeping comfortably in their beds, the house is quiet, and I have a moment of peace to be thankful for all I have. I smile in the early mornings for the potential of the day. I smile when I think of the friends I have like you.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

