Just To Satisfy My Curiosity

It’s that time of year.

The leaves are falling….

Among other things around the farm.

The hickory nuts are all over the place.

The black walnuts are here and there.

The pecans are the last to fall.

The trees hang onto their treasures till they no longer can.

Soon me and the squirrels will be battling it out for those long awaited treasures.

 But while I’m waiting, I’m shelling the remainder of last year’s pecans to put in the freezer.

This afternoon while I was sitting there cracking away…

I got to thinking….

How can three people who live in the same house pronounce the same word three different ways?

 

For instance,  I pronounce it p’cons, totally ignoring the E and pronouncing the A as the short O sound.

The Captain prounces it PEEcons. Putting the emphasis on the first syllable then pronouncing the A with the short O sound.

Now Boo, on the other hand, has probably the most correct pronunciation with PEEcans. With the long E sound, the emphasis on the first syllable and also using the A like it was meant to be used..short vowel sound.

I’m just wondering how that happens.

The Captain and I are from two different parts of the country, so I understand how we can each pronounce it differently.

But Boo has never lived anywhere but here.

You would think that he would pronounce it like one or the other of us.

Maybe the way he says it is how it’s said in South Carolina.

I’ll have to start striking up conversations about pecans with the natives just to see how they say it.

And now I’m wondering how do you say pecans?

So here’s a poll.

Just to satisfy my own curiosity.

But just in case you’ve become curious now that I’ve brought it up, after you vote you will see the results of those who’ve voted before you.

Oh, and thanks for satisfying my curiosity!

:mrgreen:

3 comments on “Just To Satisfy My Curiosity

  1. I think maybe Boo just wants to be unique. And I pronounce it like you, unless I’m saying pecan pie and then I like to say PEE-CAN PIE!!! Just ’cause it’s fun.

  2. I say it like the Captian 🙂 The way we say things is so interesting to me-I love thinking about all the accenst and how they’re passed down to the next generation.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

