Garden Report 2010 – Week 14

Working in the garden brings me such peace.

‘Cept when it’s hotter than hades out there.

I try to work in the morning or evening, when it’s not so hot.

But one of the things I enjoy the most is the sounds of nature that keep me company.

Things like this…

 

The cooing of a mourning dove.

The flapping of wings.

Next door to our farm they built a cul-de-sac.

And where my garden is located I can see the road that leads into the neighborhood.

It also means that those driving on that road can see me if I’m in the right spot.

I don’t get over there much, mostly because I’m busy over here.

But I do know a couple of families who live over there.

The other morning I was working away in the garden when I began hearing a horn blaring.

Looking up, I noticed one of my friends had stopped her car and was waving like mad.

At me.

I smiled great big and waved back.

She went on her way and I went back to doing whatever it was that I was doing in the garden.

With a happy heart.

Birds that serenade me and a friend that stopped for a moment just to say hello.

What more can one ask for while working in the garden?

😉

4 comments on “Garden Report 2010 – Week 14

  1. Well dang, if life just doesn’t get any better than this! We live on a dirt road where passers by can wave, honk or just kill me with the wake of their dust. I’m not always happy to be seen, sometimes I’m just a big old dirt-ball workin’ out there on my acre of flower gardens.

    God bless ya from the happy hills and hollers of the Missouri Ponderosa!!!

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

