Garden Report 2010 – Week 12

Not much to tell this week around the garden.

Things are growing due to the most recent rains. Including some good showers Saturday night and Sunday.

The garden has grown slowly this year due to the lack of water.

So who knows, maybe I’ll start getting something from it that will make all my work worthwhile.

I’d really like to can tomatoes, if nothing else. But not too sure that will happen this year.

One more cantelope has been broken into and everything inside is missing, leaving only the hull.

And off to the compost heap it went.

I have several watermelons growing.

 

And I’m thinking they are getting just about to the right picking size.

I know if I leave them, the critters will do to them what they did to the cantelope.

But I’m not sure exactly when I should pick them.

Any suggestions?

I love it when I get to see the sunflowers open like this.

Hope you are all having a great Monday!

6 comments on “Garden Report 2010 – Week 12

  1. My garden was a bust this year. I got cucumbers and the bugs got everything else. A friend gave me tomatoes. They planted 248 plants so they had plenty! The melon needs to be thumpable and the stem slightly shriveled and beginning to dry up.

  2. Your watermelon looks wonderful!
    We haven’t had rain around here since I was knee-high to a grasshopper, so I’m about to give up on the garden. It’s still producing tomatoes like crazy though, so I’m still making lots of sauce and salsa.
    What a cool picture of the sunflower! Love it.

  3. Our garden has suffered from the heat also. Your watermelon looks good, hope it tastes as good as it looks. Our tomatoes are coming on like crazy now. I love fresh tomatoes from the garden. The plants are dying from the ground up, though, I hope we get to harvest all the tomatoes before the entire plants die. I have been freezing mine, we just haven’t been in the mood to can this year.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

