Garden Report 2010 – Week 11

I guess garden time is winding down about now.

And canning season is swinging into full gear.

I thought that by now I would be canning tomatoes. Not so, I’ve only gotten a few tomatoes.

The lack of rain slowed the garden’s growing to almost a halt.

We have had several rain showers lately and things seem to be growing again.

So we’ll see what happens in the last few weeks for the garden.

Since I’ve only been showing you what is going wrong with the garden, I thought I’d show you a few things are right with the garden.

Or atleast somewhat right.

The tomato tee pees are working great.

Even if the tomatoes aren’t.

And even with the high wind we’ve had with the recent storms, they didn’t budge.

I will definitely be using them next year in the garden.

I have one large birdhouse gourd and several smaller ones.

By the way, since these birdhouse gourd plants are so viney and will take over the garden almost over night. I put them on a tee pee, too.

And it worked great. This way I can keep them contained and not have them running the length of the garden.

I have several watermelons growing now.

These seeds are ones that my Dad saved. (The ones I tried growing last year, but didn’t have much luck.)

I will keep planting these seeds until I get a watermelon to take seeds from so I can continue using seeds that began with my Dad.

Or until I run out.

I don’t have much luck with melons of any kind here on the farm.

The critters start eating them just before they are ready to pick, or the drought stunts the growth of the plant before it has a chance to produce fruit.

There is one pumpkin in the garden that has endured the summer stress.

Several others did not make it.

It amazes me that a plant can take over the garden, vining all over and out into the surrounding yard.

And produce so little.

I planted two herbs in the garden.

Dill

And basil.

Since I have very little cucumbers I won’t be canning pickles.

So anyone who knows how to dry dill, please let me know the best way to do this.

As I use dried dill in a recipe and would like to keep it for that.

And I think maybe I’ve let the basil get to far by letting it bloom.

From what I understand, once it blooms it begins setting seeds and the leaves lose flavor.

If anyone has experience with basil let me know.

The container herbs did not survive my vacation.

I’m wondering if I can restart them.

Or is it too late?

Anyone got any suggestions on replanting the herbs?

How is your garden growing?

6 comments on “Garden Report 2010 – Week 11

  1. My garden is winding up! lol Our growing season is later and quicker than yours.

    You could plant herbs in a container and put it in your windows. 🙂

    Come say hi….

  2. My son puts dill in a freezer bag and freezes it. His dill didn’ t make this year so when we found some, he would freeze it.

    I would think you could bundle your dill and hang it upside down and let it dry like you do so many other herbs.

    As for the basil, I can’t help you there.

  3. I am growing basil this year. I was thinking that I needed to begin harvesting it as well, before it began to bloom. I know nothing about starting it again though.

    I also have a huge rosemary plant. Well, huge in my book. Most I have grown have remained 6-12″ tall. This years plant is nearing 2′ tall.

    Herbs smell teriffic in the garden, don’t you think?

  4. I need to learn how to store my dill as well. Your basil will continue to do fine…just pinch the flowers off. I do this continually with mine and have basil until we get a hard freeze. If it gets too unruly, just pinch a bit further down. You gourds look great…I forgot to plant mine this year.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

