Better Get Started

Okay, so I’m finished with the summer semester.

And let me tell you it has been a long hard semester.

But now that it’s over and I have a week and a half of free time, I’m wondering what I should concentrate on doing with this free time.

I have a long list of things that should have already been accomplished but are not.

Mainly because my life has revolved around school for the last seven months.

I do what I can, when I can, but schoolwork comes first.

It will all be over soon and then I’ll be back in the world of employment.

Hopefully.

With the economy the way it is and people hanging onto jobs,

I’m worried that once my studies are complete and I’m searching for employment that still the jobs will be few and far between.

Perhaps things will turn around by the time I finish these courses.

But for now I’ll quit worrying about the future, keep my fingers crossed, and continue to concentrate on the schoolwork.

That is, when the fall semester resumes in the middle of August.

So,

back to my time off.

I’m torn between what I “NEED” to do and what I “WANT” to do.

There’s that long mostly ignored list and things that need to be finished.

But then there’s things I want to do.

I’d love to go to the beach, sit in the sand and watch the waves roll in and out.

And I have some friends in my hometown wanting me to visit.

There’s an amusement/water park calling my name that’s not far away.

Go for a long, leisurely walk.

And then there’s that list again.

Since I’m not working and money is tight, the beach is out of the question.

But, I promise you….

if I had the money, I’d be beach bound as fast as I could get packed and get in the truck.

No questions asked.

All else would have to wait until maybe next semester break.

But I don’t, so that gets marked off the list.

Maybe I could get the Captain to bring home a load of sand to stick my toes in, get out my beach chair, put in a CD of relaxing beach sounds, close my eyes and just pretend I’m sitting on a beach somewhere due east of here.

Lord knows it’s hot enough.

I like to take walks in the woods just to see what I can find.

I haven’t done that in awhile.

Nor have I ambled down the horse trail.

Doesn’t that look like a relaxing place to take a stroll?

Driving back home, (300 miles away) would also take money.

Not to mention the last time my truck headed that way, it was towed back and ended up costing me almost $2,000. to be repaired. That is after I had just spent $1,500 for a similar repair.

Have I told you that this has been an expensive year for the farm.

Truck repairs and an air conditioning unit that had to be replaced in the spring.

Yes, now you know why I have no money.

This living week to week stuff is for the birds. I can’t wait to get back to work and replenish my savings account.

So back to the list (again).

I think I’ll split the days up.

Do some fun stuff with my son who has been patient all summer.

And get atleast a few of those things knocked off the list.

I think I’ll let you guys determine which things I’ll knock off that list.

 So be expecting to see some polls in the next few days.

 Just to get you thinking, here’s a few things on that list.

  • Clean fish tanks. The fish are dead and gone and I really need to get those tanks cleaned up and put away.
  • Finish sewing a seat cushion cover for a friend.
  • Finish painting the kitchen wall. It’s still only painted about 6′ up the wall.
  • Clean and paint some birdhouse gourds that I’ve been promising to a friend since in the fall.
  • Finish painting the red shed.
  • Mowing, trimming and yanking weeds.

That’s not including all the daily stuff that needs to get done.

Anyone want to come help?

If all of you would come chip in, we could knock that list out in a day or two.

No?

Oh well, guess I better get started.

One comment on “Better Get Started

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

