Wheedle Word 41

Last week I gave you the word….

“FALLING”

Several of you mentioned falling in love. And others mentioned Autumn’s falling leaves.

One of you was thinking on the same wavelength as I.

Similar anyway.

Falling down comes to my mind.

Something you don’t know about me is that I cannot control my laughter when I see someone fall.

Oh, I’m not “point my finger and laugh” mean about it. And I’m the first one to make sure all is well from the fall.

It’s not the fall that’s funny to me. It’s the arms flailing, feet stepping, wide eyed process of falling that is funny to me.

For instance,

I was sitting outside a grocery store waiting for someone one night, when this guy comes out carrying a case of beer.

He set it on the seat of a moped and set himself on top of the case of beer.

We he gave the moped gas to go, the beer shifted along with his backside.

The handlebars were all over the place as the guy tried to keep his balance.

His feet were flying all over the place as he tried to keep from droppng the bike.

The moped itself was back and forth from the excessive handlebar movement.

No, he didn’t drop the bike or even fall off. He finally got it under control and drove away.

It was, by far, one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen.

I’m not cold and callous.

It’s just that funny is funny.

I even laugh at myself when I trip of fall.

Recently, I was at a friends house when I was walking up her concrete stairs, when I tripped up the stairs.

I know, doesn’t that make you feel stupid?

There were about 15 people there.

I’m not sure how many saw the incident.

Luckily, I caught myself before I planted my face in those concrete steps.

No one said a word.

And I didn’t look to see who was watching.

I just stood back up and finished my trek to the top.

All the while, snickering at myself.

If you never visit me again…

I understand.

I’m just keeping it real.

Anyway, how about a new wheedle word?

The first thing that popped into my mind this week is…..

“SCOOP”

Boy, can that one go in many directions!

New to Wheedle Word?

Click here!

7 comments on “Wheedle Word 41

  1. Pooper Scooper. 🙂

    I laugh at other’s expense too and cannot help it. Maybe it’s because I’m falling so much and getting laughed at.
    The other day, this teenage boy across the street was picking up a microwave that someone set out on the sidewalk with a “free” sign on it. It was large and he couldn’t really look down to see what was in front of him. He started trying to walk, but the yard had kind of a steep little rise in it in the direction he was going. He fell straight to the ground and lost the microwave. I was sitting on the porch and could not stop giggling. He was okay, of course, but I finally had to go in because I was afraid that I was going to start bellowing loudly where he could hear!
    That’s terrible!

  2. A big scoop of Rocky Road Ice cream!!!! MMMMMMM my favorite. I was there when you fell up the stairs, but I didn’t see it although I do remember you talking about it afterwards.

  3. A girl that thinks like I do! At least one that isn’t afraid to laugh, and laughs at something truly funny! Hilarious.

    Bob and I fell with his bike today. Oh yes all 3 of “us” were laying in the road. We were not hurt, and thankfully, we were somewhere with no traffic at all.

    I could not get up, He thought I was hurt. I wasn’t hurt, I was laying in the road laughing!

    I fell backwards once, about 10 years ago. Flailing arms and all. My oldest son tried to stiffle a laugh. I realized at that point I had given birth to another one that laughs at slapstick comedy.

    Scoop – my husband and I often touch bases throughout the work day. “What’s the scoop?” is one of our lines.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

