Head-On Collision

I know that you have been wondering what it is that I’m doing that has taken me almost completely away from posting here and visiting you.

And with good reason have you been curious.

I went from posting 6-7 days per week and visiting you ALL daily to barely being here at all.

You know that I started spring semester courses in January.

And you also know that we have been doing some much needed remodeling here on the farm.

After weeks of preparation, studying and life, the classes and the remodeling crashed head-on last week leaving what looked like a trainwreck inside my house.

The den.

From daylight till dark my Mother and Father-in-law and myself , for seven days, worked continuously. Boo and The Captain,too, when they were not at school and work.

We tore out the carpet, pulled staples, painted the floors with Kilz, sanded, measured and cut and laid down hard floor all through the main parts of the house, kitchen, den, diningroom….

I painted crown moulding and more walls. Stained quarter round. We are installing new baseboard, most of that is finished.

I am currently in three college classes and Monday I had a project, an essay and a worksheet all due.

Here’s a shot of the old carpet.

It was 16 yrs. old and stained. It was in desperate need of replacement.

Not to mention it was green.

It came in the house.

I’m not a fan of green.

Not on a large scale anyway. I prefer to add touches of green. You know, accent with it.

We finished the floor Friday night and Saturday I flew into trying to get all the classwork caught up. I finished one per day. The project, Saturday, the worksheet, Sunday and the essay on Monday.

Needless to say, last week, I was stressed!!

😯

The house was total chaos and so was my head.

I still have one wall to paint and moulding to paint and then install, but it’s almost complete.

My feet and legs are sore from climbing up and down ladders. My upper body is sore from pulling carpet and staples. And my behind is sore from sitting on the hard floor.

I’ll recover eventually. (I hope)

But I’m much calmer now.

Here’s the new flooring going down.

Atleast I can walk through the house and not an obstacle course.

In May, I will have a two week break from school and then the summer semester starts. I would really like to take the summer off, but I’m trying to get through this schooling as quickly as possible so I can get back to work.

Not that I haven’t been working my tail off as it is. But this work doesn’t pay and eventually I’ll run out of money and get hungry.

I still have other rooms to paint and carpet to replace. But it will have to wait for next winter and/or more money.

Remodeling is not cheap.

My in-laws were a Godsend in helping with this project. I cannot explain how much I appreciate the help they have been.

The Captain has been working limited hours, until the last couple of weeks. Just when we started this project they began working him until late, leaving most of the work for us here at home.

I’m not complaining, we need him working since I am not. But they could have given us just one more week. LOL

The rabbit has been lonely too. I have taken very few pictures during this ordeal.

Which is very unusual for me.

Ask anyone who knows me.

:mrgreen:

I have missed you!

And I’m thankful for those of you who are still with me.

I know you ALL understand that sometimes life gets in the way of things.

But good friends are always there, waiting.

Now that I have explained my absence, I must get back to that never ending homework.

The other will probably be finished during my TWO WEEK vacation from school.

Or a little at a time.

🙄 

10 comments on “Head-On Collision

  1. LOVE the new floor, Becky!
    LIfe does have a way of throwing a wrench into all of our plans, but you’re right, we’ll all be here waiting for you when you get back. 🙂

  2. Your new flooring is great. You’ve been working hard but it’s all going to pay off in the end.

    I’ll be taking most of next week off from blogging myself. Got some things going on that’s going to take up much of my time.

    See you soon.

  3. We canNOT do it all and sometimes we NEED to disappear (unless you’re Pioneer Woman and then I guess you can’t). Frankly, I’m glad I’m not cause when my life gets like yours, and it does, I have to say good-bye to blogging for a short time! You are loved and your friends will be here when you get back! LOVELY FLOORS and GOOD FOR YOU for your studies!!!!!

  4. The remodel is looking very good.

    I, too, am not feeling comfortable with less contact (on my end) but sometimes it simply happens.

    Do what you can, knowing the head-on collision will result in new and wonderful things. 🙂

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

