Garden Report 2010 – Week 1

Last spring, summer and fall I posted a weekly garden report.

When I began last year I wasn’t so sure I’d have enough to post about each week.

That was not a problem. There seemed to be more than enough going on in the garden to keep posting weekly.

Who knew?

So anyway, I enjoyed it so much, I’ve decided to bring it back this year.

This will be the first Monday Garden Report for 2010.

Over the last couple of years I’ve had an interest in planting an herb garden.

But with me going to school this year I’m not so sure I can keep two gardens weed free. It’s hard enough to keep up with one.

And I’m not so sure I’ll use a lot of herbs if I planted them.

So, while I was in the local home improvement center recently, I ran across these planter boxes.

I thought they would be great for experimenting with herbs on a small scale.

So I picked up a bag of good potting soil while I was there, too.

I lined them with coffee filters and then topped it with the potting soil.

Filled it the rest of the way up with the soil, then sprinkled the tiny seeds and then topped that with a thin layer of soil.

I bought three of these boxes, but have only planted two of them.

One with Thyme and one with Oregano.

I’m not accustomed to cooking with fresh herbs.

So this is something new to me in two ways, first planting and then using in the kitchen.

I must stay with small plants for these boxes.

I have a couple of recipes that call for Thyme that I’d like to try.

And we use dried, crushed Oregano regularly. So drying and storing Oregano is something I’ll have to study up on.

Still I’m left with the third box.

Do you have any suggestions for another herb to plant in that third box?

 

9 comments on “Garden Report 2010 – Week 1

  1. Great planter boxes! How about chives for the 3rd box? and maybe some parsley.You can just cut the chives off with scissors as you need them and they keep on growing. Both herbs you can use in heaps of things. Or mint….mint is nice and it is supposed to keep flys away as well 🙂

  2. Basil. I love Basil and use it in many things.

    Oregano is a beautiful plant. I think you’ll be happy you have it. I love thyme as well. Good work and what a great idea!

  3. Sorry, Becky, can’t help you with this….I know nothing about herb growing. I do have a flower pot with chives. A friend gave me the chives a long time ago and I put them in a flower pot and sat it outside by the pond. They keep coming up every year. I have never used them in cooking though…..really don’t know how to, or what to use them in. Maybe you can help me with that later, if you decide to grow them.

  4. Happy planting. I’m on my way out to mow the backyard. Believe it or not, I have now mowed twice already. Seemed the snow no sooner melted and it warmed and that grass shot up like crazy. But it’s good exercise for me. Hope you had a wonderful week-end.

  5. Yay!! I loved your garden reports last year and I’m looking forward to them again this year.

    I loved my herbs last year. More than I thought I would. Last year I had oregano, basil, parsley and chives. I used them all A LOT and have a great basil pesto recipe that is good for using up all that basil. Basil is my favorite herb, so I suggest that one. There are tons of uses for it.

  6. Basil…Go forth and plant you some basil!!! Then when you have an abundance of tomatoes you take some olive oil in a skillet and put in some garlic and sliced thick tomatoes and cover that with basil and cook and turn and eat!!!

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

