The Sound of Water

Over the past few years my emotions have been over hills and down in the valleys.

A roller coaster ride that has taken its toll.

As my brother’s health slowly deteriorated, so did my emotional well being.

Because of past emotional upheaval, I do not turn to friends and family for support.

Not to say that I don’t have a strong network of family and friends, because I do have much support from those who love me.

And I appreciate ALL the support that is given to me.

It is nice to have someone beside me at times and to know that there are friends and family that are a phone call or a click away.

But there are times when I need to find that inner peace.

I tend keep things inside and lean more toward the beauty around me, God’s things, to lift my spirits.

I pray for the things I need to lift my spirits and they are revealed to me just when I need them most.

Sometimes in something as small as a tiny flower. And other times in things as large as a rainbow.

They are there, reminding me that I am not alone. That I am being listened to, watched over and not forgotten.

God’s love is always present.

One of the things that relaxes me the most is water.

A small creek.

A mighty river.

Or the constant tides of the ocean.

The soft babbling of a creek or the sound of a crashing wave is music to me. I could sit lost forever in the sounds of water.

While I sit and listen and watch the flow or churn, I notice the things that surround the water.

The rustle of leaves as the wind blows through.

A bird as it flies quietly overhead.

Critters skampering about.

The beauty of a majestic tree.

The distinct smell of the ocean.

 These are all things made by God, no human can claim rights.

They are gifts to remind us that we are never alone.

He is there.

Always.

 Patiently waiting for a chance to reveal himself and his love.

Thank you, Shirley!

14 comments on “The Sound of Water

  1. Oh Becky! We are truly a kindred spirit! You have just posted my heart. I too, find peace, comfort and joy in all these things. It does my heart good to know that others have the same feelings as I do. You have brought tears to my eyes. How great our God is to reveal these blessings to us. I love you, my friend and sister-in-Christ.

  2. It is difficult for me to understand why I do not turn to people for solace. Your post explained it well.

    Peace really does have to come from within. And we really do have a need to find it ourselves, finding it in a place of our own, in nature, and with God.

    Have a good day Becky.

  3. What a beautiful post. I am not sure why but I find I turn to other people less and less over the years and rely on my self and my own inner peace to get through tough times. I am sure why but I do understand.

  4. Beautiful post Becky!
    I too am always amazed at God’s beauty around me. I think I inherited that from my Dad. A sky, a flower, a flow of water can take my breath away. I feel nearer to God in the wide open than sitting in a church full of people. It’s just how I am.
    Moving back to WV has given me a quiet peace I hadn’t had in many years. I’ve been back going on three years and it’s still almost new to me.
    My continued thoughts and prayers go out to you.

  5. What a wonderful heart felt post. Your words are so poetic. And they mean so much to those who read them.

    If God can take care of all the beautiful things in Nature, then surely He can take care of us. Just as He says He will.

  6. Beautiful post-both pics and words. I find the older I get-the more Iook for peace and comfort in the small things that surround my life. I’m so glad you’ve been able to feel some peace during this hard time.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

