One Week Ago

One week ago today, my brother silently passed away.

When I was made aware of this I knew my blog would lie silent.

But I felt I owed it to you, my friends, to let you know, so you would understand the silence.

I’m not sure I’m ready to get back in the saddle just yet, time will tell.

For those of you that are fairly new here, you may be unaware of my brother’s condition.

Some of you have asked.

I thought I would explain.

My brother was a diabetic, as was my mother. They both died due to complications of this silent, but horrible disease.

Alone, diabetes is manageable. But if left out of control, it causes so many other complications; organ function, blindness, circulation, just to name a few.

The disease is so hard to keep in check. Different things affect the levels of sugar and insulin in the body; food, infection, exercise….

The hardest thing to control is the amount of sugar you ingest.

I have watched, for many years, the control and lack thereof, the longing to live a normal life and enjoy the food that others can so easily consume.

I’ve seen how diabetes slowly robs one of their sight, my mother was blind.

How it can rob a person of the ability to get up and go about their daily tasks, my brother had both legs amputated (circulation ).

Because he was unable to walk, he was bedridden and too weak to turn himself from side to side for the last few months of his life, because of the damage to his heart.

This caused what we know as bedsores to develope, which can be very painful.

I was almost in constant prayer for relief of the pain my brother was suffering.

 When he would get one thing healed another took its place.

His health has steadily deteriorated,  and more rapidly in the last few months.

He was suffering mentally and physically, maybe mentally causing physically and visa versa.

I can only imagine the smile that came over his face when he realized he was walking again.

And I imagined just how he took off running when he saw the faces of those awaiting his arrival in Heaven.

Free at last!

From the handicap, the misery and the pain that had became his constant companion.

I will miss him.

And I’ll shed more tears than I have.

But I am thankful he is no longer suffering.

 And now I want to say…….

Thank you!

Each and everyone of you!

For the prayers, thoughts, cards and support you have shown me this last week.

I will not forget the generous, heartfelt comments you have left here for me and my family.

I’m not too sure when I’ll be back to regular posting.

But I will be back to visiting you soon.

Becky @ Twisted Fencepost 

24 comments on “One Week Ago

  1. Again, I’m so sorry.
    My ex-husband’s mother died from diabetes as well. It’s a terrible disease. Now my sister is struggling with it, and she is not managing it well… I worry a lot.
    My prayers are with you.

  2. Sister,
    You take your time and we will be here waiting when you’re ready to come back. I’ve been thinking about you a lot lately and you remain in my prayers.

    Love ya girl.

  3. Beck, I am feeling it too…. listening to music in the car, I just think of the Bear and smile, KNOWING that he is “Marchin’ around the Throne” as the old song says…. We sorrow not as those that have no hope….

  4. Becky~
    I am so sorry for your loss. You will be in my thoughts and prayers as you travel this difficult journey. How wonderful to know though, that your precious brother is with the Lord…feeling good, with no more pain. Again, I am so sorry.

  5. Becky, my prayers remain with you. When Charley’s step dad died in December, one of his problems was diabetes. It helps give us peace to know they are without pain now and walking in Heaven.

  6. What a battle it must have been for your brother. You are in my thoughts daily, Becky, and in my prayers. My husband has diabetes and we fight almost daily about his diet–trying to keep him on the path and understanding the risks he takes is difficult and frustrating. He is in denial, I believe, about what can happen.

    Your brother knew he was loved; blessed is the man who has that knowledge.

  7. Oh Becky-wish I was there to give you a big hug. Since we’ve been friends-I’ve known how you worried about your brother-and how you loved him so. Me and the girls are still praying for you every morning-and will continue too!

  8. Becky, I have missed you terribly. I know that you are dealing with this the best one that you can. The words that you wrote came through so beautifully even tho you were discribing something so horrible. This blog is important in that it is how I got to “meet” someone as kind and wonderful that I know you are. But the blog will be here upon your return. Just as we all will be. Please take time and take special care. You are worth it..
    Praying for you, Becky
    Melinda

  9. Becky, my friend, I am so sorry. I somehow missed your previous post about your brother’s passing. I pray that God give you peace and comfort your hurting heart. Even though we know our loved ones are out of their pain and with God, we still hurt…..and only God can give us comfort. May you feel His loving arms around you in this time of sorrow and pick you up when you are feeling down. You have His love and the love of so many, many friends. My heart sorrows for you, yet we can have joy in knowing with God….this, too, will pass. Take care and remember….”The Lord is nigh unto them that are of a broken heart” Psalm 34:18

  10. Becky, time is healing. And when you heal sometimes life itself changes in front of your eyes, or your outlook changes. It will be good. Until then, please do whatever you need to do. Know that your friends understand.

  11. This is so sad Becky.
    Diabetes runs in my family to. my Mom & Grandpa died from it. It is so hard to understand why a loved one is taken away so soon.

  12. I’m so sorry for the pain you have been through watching those you love suffer! I had no idea! I am keeping you in my prayers! But, you are so right! He is in Heaven now and whole again!

  13. Becky, you are in my thoughts and prayers. Enjoy some time off, we will look forward to your returning after a much needed break. Hugs to you. Patty

  14. Becky: Come back when you are ready. Sometimes death is hard to deal with and writing about it can help. I will be in Europe next week so I will be on a break until April.

  15. Prayers for peace for you going up…
    We lost our mom and grandfather to diabetes, and know what a horrible disease it is, even when managed. There are no words that can take away your pain right now, just know that so many of us care.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

