Brother Bear

How do you make the adjustment when the only one left of your immediate family moves on to the other side?

I’m talking parents and siblings.

The ones you’ve known your whole life.

The ones who love you no matter what.

Who’ve been there through thick and thin.

How do you accept the fact that you’re the only one left?

My brother, my only sibling, passed away yesterday morning.

I didn’t get to say good-bye.

I didn’t get to say I love you.

I didn’t get to hold his hand and tell him everything will be okay as he took his last breath and moved on.

I will miss him.

But I am glad he is no longer in pain.

He is whole again and walking along with those who have gone before.

Rest in Peace, Brother Bear! 

31 comments on “Brother Bear

  1. Oh Becky…may peace fill your heart…there are no words for this type of pain…may you also feel the comfort of the Lord’s arms wrapped around you…

  2. oh Becky my friend, I am so sorry to be reading this. My heart is heavy for you. I am loss for words, you know where I am if there is anything I can do for you.
    Prayers to all

  3. Dear Becky,
    I am so sorry to hear of your Brother’s passing. I knew he was in the hospital, but I guess I was assuming he was getting well. It would make it hard, having only one sibling. But you have your child at home and I believe a son that lives away from home with his little girl (?), and your hubby. It’s going to be hard for a while. But hang in there. You’re a strong person.
    Your blogging friend,
    Patty

  4. Becky I am so, so, so sorry about your brother. I wish I were closer so I could help in some way. Please know you are in my heart today and my prayers. Blessings to you and your family.

  5. Becky I am sorry to hear about your brothers passing. Even if you werent there physically, Im sure your brother knew just how much you loved him. None of us know exactly when these things are going to happen. When my dad went to work one day when he was 52 and never came home I learned a hard lesson. Never do I go without telling those I love just how much I do…Never do I talk to my grandma without telling her what she means to me and I made sure to tell her what a difference she has made in my life.
    Im sure that anyone that knows you certainly knows you love them. And it sounds like your brother was suffering? Pain? He is in a good place today. That you can believe.
    Im sorry you are going through this…

    I will pray for you Becky

    Your friend
    Melinda

  6. I too, am sorry for your loss. I know you have quite an empty feeling and it’s hard to think about being the only one left. Doesn’t matter how grown up you are. I pray that you find a peace and can remember all the wonderful times with your dear family.

  7. Oh honey I am so absolutely sorry….may you find peace. I know how hard times like these are as you are suddenly filled with all of your childhood memories all at once. You are in my thoughts. Love you.

  8. Oh, Becky, I am so sorry.

    I wish there were magic words that would take the pain away, but I know the only thing that brings peace to your heart is time.

    You are in my prayers.

  9. Becky, I’m praying for peace and comfort along with your other friends. I’m so very sorry to hear this, and asking for our God to wrap you in His arms and fill you with Peace that passes all understanding. God bless.

  10. Hey Girl

    Wishing I could take you saddness away
    I am Wishing I had just the right words to say
    I hope the lord sends you what you need
    You are in our thought and prayers!
    Hopeing that you have many rainbows on the horizon!
    All my Love
    Tiffany

  11. Oh Becky…I’m so sorry and have no answers for your questions. I wish I could give you a big hug and hold your hand while you cry. Thoughts and prayers flying your way.

  12. Becky, I am so sorry. We’ve been so busy lately, that I hadn’t been on the internet much. Just read your post today. I pray for God to help ease your pain.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

