Smile-Hen Party

Until the winter of 2008 I did not read blogs.

I had heard of them. But it just did not seem to be something which captured my interest.

Until I clicked on a blog from an area that I am familiar with. A place in the foothills of my home state, West Virginia.

The place where I grew up playing in creeks, catching june bugs, lightening bugs and robbing the chickens of their eggs.

I love my home state of West Virginia even though I haven’t lived there for many years.

I also love where I live now, South Carolina.

 

 

This place, South Carolina, seemed, in my young mind, to be a distant land, full of mystery.

When I clicked on that blog and began to read, I was fascinated with the things that I related to.

Then I clicked on links within that blog. Those links opened up a whole new world for me and changed my way of thinking about what a blog was.

Who knew when I clicked on that first link I would find so many wonderful people just clicks away, telling me about the world they live in?

And people who would become my friends by just typing a few words on an otherwise blank screen.

Then came Facebook.

Not only can I keep up with the little things happening in their life, but I can chat with them in real time about whatever comes to mind.

And when I’m on Facebook, checking on everyone’s day, the little chatbox to the right pops up from someone saying hello…

it makes me smile!

Sometimes it’s family. Sometimes old friends that I haven’t seen in years. And sometimes it’s one of my new found blog friends.

When I make a run to the market or the local home improvement store, or maybe walking the halls of the school I am now attending….

very seldom do I make eye contact from those I pass.

And even less do I see a smile.

Not because I am not willing, but because this world has become a place where no one seems to care about the others around them.

It is a sad world that I face each time I go out.

I understand the whys of the unfriendly world we live in.

One time when I was a very young mother and wife, I smiled at an older gentleman in a grocery store. Just being friendly.

 Because it is who I am.

And I went on my merry way to find what it was I had stopped for.

That older gentleman had followed me through the store and when I stopped, he approached me. Not because he was greatful that someone had smiled and said a friendly hello.

He began by asking if I was married. And if I did any “stepping out”.

Yes, I understand why people are not friendly and I was very thankful that I was not alone that day. Who knows what would have happened if I had walked to my car alone.

But it still doesn’t make it right that people are not friendly because they are afraid of what effect it might cause. 

Which is why I love blogging.

At any given time I can virtually see a smile from a friend.

It may not be what we perceive as a smile, but a blog post, an email or a hello in a chat box.

But it is a smile none the less.

And I love my friends who I smile at everyday.

And I feel the smile they send back.

For those of us who live in a rural area, the ones that don’t “get out” much.

We have our own little hen party, except the only sounds we hear are not the clucking of words,

but the clicking of words as they are typed and sent out for the others to “hear”.

So, having said all that….

this “Makes Me Smile” post is dedicated to you.

My teammates, the hens AND roosters who are my virtual friends, near and far, that make me smile each day.

🙂

I hope your dreams come true and your life is filled with happiness!

Here’s a little sunshine to brighten your day.

Just ignore all that white stuff!

22 comments on “Smile-Hen Party

  1. Great post! I do have a problem sometimes at work with people mistaking my friendliness for flirting. But I try to firmly let them know that I am not interested, but still keep my friendly attitude, because it makes ME happy!

  2. What a nasty man. Not only for what he said, but also to rob you and others of your sweet smile.
    Sending my virtual smile to you from Oregon. I love visiting your world on the other side of our country and having a hen party. Thanks for the beautiful sunshine picture!

  3. Beautiful pictures, one and all. Nice words and thoughts, too. When I bike, I wonder why people won’t say “hello” or even smile. I’m one of the biggest introverts that every lived, and I’ll be friendly. But now I’ll think twice about someone following me home!

  4. I feel the same way about blogging. Even at that I dont’ spend the time that I wish I could. I read a blog today that made me think of you. For two reasons. 1. She wrote about attics and their treasures today and I thought you would like it. And. 2. It made me feel dreamy and reminded me of this weeks wheedle word. Go check her out! I know you’ll love it! http://www.ayearofhappy.com/

  5. Becky, you always make me smile. You were one of my very first blogging friends…..and I am so glad I found you. I totally agree with everything you have said in this post. Thanks for the sun….it is visiting me here today in WV also….and our white stuff is still around too. Just think….one of these days we won’t have to be concerned about smiling at everyone….we will be in a land where that will be the norm. Love you, Becky…
    you do have a talent for expressing yourself with words.

  6. It’s sad to think that now-a-days one can’t offer a smile just for the sake of being friendly without another possibly thinking the intention was anything more than just a friendly smile.

    I always love dropping by your place to say hi.

  7. Becky, Your post today is right on the money! And I feel the same about the friendships I have made and continue to make through blogging. It is so much fun!

    I sometimes feel guilty if I don’t take time to be friendlier in the real world, but you gave the exact reason we have to be so careful.

  8. Becky: I certainly count you as one of my friends and am always happy to hear from your. I think that good people tend to join together no matter if it is in person or on the web.

  9. I love your pictures!!!
    I do smile & make eye contact. My husband & daughter say people think I’m a flirt but I don’t see it that way. I am more likely to be friendly to ladys than men just because of the kind of scenerio you described.

  10. I so agree with you about our society now not really connecting in person. But I also agree that this is an opportunity to meet and learn about others in this big world and to know that we are not alone. Thank you for being a friend and for sure you always bring a smile to my face. Sunshine right back at ya!

  11. Indeed it is a hen-party, complete with a few roosters. I’ve met people in blogworld that I would never have known otherwise–you, Tipper, Susan, Bayou Woman, Cathy, Jessica, glanbrydan and many others who share their lives and help us understand what goes on in other parts of this world. What I’ve learned is that we’re not so different. We all laugh, struggle, cry, and share.

    Thank you for this thoughtful post. And listen girl, no stepping out, you hear?! 😉

  12. I love to greet people with a smile. A friend of mine once told me that she always greets strangers with a smile, it makes them wonder what she’s up to.

  13. Love this post and I do like to greet people and make eye contact. It is sometimes perceived as more, but what happened to manners? I have connected with so many wonderful people since I started blogging. I love reading about their lives and daily happenings.

  14. Lovely post Becky!
    I just have to say back here in West Virginia it’s still that wonderful place where people care and will smile back and shoot, we just keep on talking. Sure, there are some that don’t but not nearly the numbers of our previous home.
    When my Hubby and I moved back we noticed right away how much more friendlier people are. I know in part because the numbers of people aren’t as great and life really isn’t as hectic. Having lived 30 some years someplace else in suburbia where it was like what you say, it’s good to be home. 🙂

  15. Man, I hate crazy people like that! Glad he didn’t bother you too much!

    I love reading your blog and all my other friend’s blogs too. It is nice to know there are good people out there!

  16. Sending a smile from Wisconsin.
    I am happy to report that I live in an area where not only will people smile, wave, say hello – but also offer to help if they see you struggling with a heavy grocery bag – and I never worry about someone running off with it.
    I did not always live in such a nice place. I am grateful that I found it and hope to stay a long long time.

  17. Great post and here’s a LARGE smile coming from Ohio to SC just for you. I hope all of your classes go well for you and you meet some friendly people with nothing bad in the back of their minds except to be friendly..

  18. Wonderful post!! You summed up perfectly how I feel about blogs-and the whole of blogland. Thank you for your kind words about us. And you know-how I feel about you-so thankful we met 🙂

  19. Ah, well. There will always be naughty old men. But you’re right, we can’t let that make us change who we are.

    Guess what???

    There were robins in our yard yesterday afternoon!!!

    (Did it really snow on you again??? Eeeeyuck.)

    Hey, hi, Tipper!!

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

