News From The Farm

Hello,Teammates!

I HAVE MISSED YOU!!!

I’ve had so much going on around the farm for the last few weeks that I just haven’t had time to blog.

😦

I have been trying to visit and keep up with what’s going on in your neck of the woods. I get a little behind with my visits with you, but have faith, I will be there, eventually.

As some of you know my brother has been hospitalized since just before Christmas with various health issues. And it appears he will be there for quite awhile longer. Not sure just how long. It really depends of how quickly his body heals itself.

The holidays were a little strange for me this year. I just couldn’t get the spirit of the season.

And I tried really hard!

I did get to visit with my kids and their families which is always a happy time for me. I miss them when our time apart is too long. They are all doing well and I couldn’t ask for anything more for them.

We had a small New Year’s Eve party on the farm with family and friends. Complete with lots of food, champagne and of course, the karaoke had to be sang.

😆

Altogether happiness was shared as we watched the ball drop and brought in the new year.

Stress has been at an all time high for much too long and I am working to find ways to manage it more effectively. Feel free to share any tips you might have for the ways you control your stress.

In other farm news…..

Most of you know I have been laid-off from my job for almost a year now. And with my background in the auto industry it doesn’t look like I will be returning to that industry. Also, it makes it hard to find work elsewhere.

So I enrolled in our local technical college and have begun a two year course toward a future career.

WISH ME LUCK!

I’m sure there will be some blog stories coming from that.

:mrgreen:

On a more somber note…

This week our faithful farm dog, Nanook, went to dog Heaven.

It was a very sad day for us.

She lived a long life of almost 16 years and had been on the farm almost as long as we have.

We miss her terribly.

😥

We have been finishing up some remodeling inside the house.

Yay!

And have more to go.

I’ll have pictures for you soon.

I’m hoping to begin regular posting again,

WITH PICTURES!

Cause you know I don’t like posting without pictures.

So, how have you been?

🙂

18 comments on “News From The Farm

  1. Becky,
    I’m so sorry about your sweet dog! I know how hard it is to lose a much loved pet, I’ve had dogs all my life and its truly like losing a member of the family.

    Also, as far as stress goes, I find that the best cure for that is prayer. Just really lay it all out there for the Lord. He does care and it always makes me feel better. I know that is sometimes easier said than done when the daily things in our lives that cause the stress are constantly there, but it sure helps me a lot.

    I will be praying for you and your new career path, I can’t wait to hear all about it.
    I featured you on my blog today, go check it out!
    Love ya, sis!

  2. Sounds as if you have plenty around you to cause a little stress Becky. Number one: Tell Satan to SHUT -UP!!! Number two- Tell him again and again.!! Take very deep breaths in your nose and out of your mouth..AND play in the dirt! Air hugs……~~~~~~~~~!

  3. I am terribly sorry to hear about Nanook, I think I can understand how you feel.
    Good luck with the college classes and keep thinking positive.

    Stop back when you can, we will be here.

  4. Becky,
    So sorry to hear about the loss of your dog. We lost our oldest Border Collie late last year and it was hard. It can be very stressful when siblings are sick, so stay positive.

    Congrats to you for taking the initiative on starting a new career path. Can’t wait to hear more about it.

  5. Becky and family, you have my deepest sympathy. Losing a pet is hard. We lost our Cuddles when she was 22. Oldest dog our vet had. She was a good dog. We have Cuddles along with Tiger who was 13, Puppy only a few years old, Benji was 17 and Autumn was around 12, all buried in our backyard. You can get very attached to them.

    Just this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.

    When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to Rainbow Bridge. There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together.
    There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.

    All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor; those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by. The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing; they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.

    They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intent; His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.

    You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.

    Then you cross Rainbow Bridge together….

    Author unknown…

  6. Sounds like you have been really busy. It’s been a little stressful around here, too. I hate stress! Hope things get better, so sorry about your brother and Nanook. It is so sad when you lose a pet, I still think of our little dachshund who died 2 yrs ago.

  7. Becky: There are times when what you have going on in your daily walk is much more important then the blog. I wish your brother a quick recovery. I’m glad you had time with family and friends. What is your course leading you into? Inquiring minds want to know. Sorry about the dog, 16 years is a long time for a faithful friend.

  8. My advice is to drink heavily. Just joshin’, of course!
    Sounds like it’s been a really rough time around the farm. I’m really sorry to hear that your brother is still stick and that you guys lost Nanook. It’s really hard to lose a pet. Our dog, Blackie, is 16 as well and really looking his age this winter. I’m afraid he won’t be with us much longer either.
    We had a really strange holiday season with Shilo’s illness and surgery too, so I completely hear you on that front. I still haven’t got all my Christmas boxes sent out.
    What kind of a course are you taking?

  9. Hey Becky,
    You’ve definitely had a lot on your plate.
    Good for you for enrolling in school. It takes a lot of courage to start over. I know you’ll be a super student!
    So sorry about Nanook. I see Patty relayed the rainbow bridge story. It really helped me when we lost our cat Smokey last year.
    Take it one day at a time and take care of each other.
    Hugs.

  10. I’m so sorry about Nanook-I know that is rough. I’m sorry about all the other stress too-know that you are not alone-I’m feeling some of the same things. Maybe that’ll help to know you’re not alone you’ve got friends like me 🙂

    I’ll be praying for your brother too.

  11. So, so sorry to hear about Nanook. I know first hand how painful it is to lose a much loved pet. Try to remember how happy you made Nanook with all your love….

    Tania

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

