What Makes Me Smile – Memories

I haven’t written a “What Makes Me Smile” post in several months.

Too much stress tends to make one not notice the little everyday occurances that bring a smile to our face.

I am attempting to not spend so much time worrying and more time noticing the little things that make me smile.

Won’t you join me?

So this “What Makes Me Smile” post is dedicated to memories.

Memories make me smile.

And I know you have some good memories that always bring a smile no matter what your present situation is.

Several years ago, I worked in a convenience store in the small town where I lived, that was owned by a prominent family who had seen generations live and thrive in that same small town.

 It was where half the town stopped in the morning for coffee and a hot biscuit. They stopped in for a lunch of those hot dogs that were famous in three counties. And they stopped in the evenings to chew the fat or get something needed for the evening.

On the weekends the hunters met there early to plan their expeditions and grab a cup of coffee. Unless they were going coon hunting, then they met just before dark.

When evenings rolled around the younger generation met and planned their night on the town.

It’s also where I was picked on to no end.

One particular morning, I got up to find that my car had a flat tire. The X changed the tire for me, by putting that temporary spare we called a “doughnut” in place of the flat, while I made plans to have the tire replaced when I left work.

After work I went to the local tire shop on recommendations from trusted local friends.

Sure enough, they had a tire in stock and began by replacing the flat tire. But when they began to replace the “doughnut” with the new tire, they found that it had been put on the car backwards.

It was early and dark when it was put on there. A mistake anyone could make.

I think……

I have replaced a tire with the spare, on the side of the road, in the dark, on the same car and it WAS NOT on backwards.

Maybe it was just too early.

I wondered why the car was so hard to drive. The back end didn’t want to follow the front end. I just figured it was because of the “doughnut’.

 And it was.

 Just not in the way that I was thinking.

Needless to say, everytime someone in that tire shop stopped in at the convenience store where I worked, which was daily, this story was told.

Over and over and over….

It didn’t take long for the whole town to know about  the girl who put the tire on backwards.

Day after day, I blushed at their teasing. Just grinning, knowing that I was NOT the one who put the tire on backwards.

Until one day, the guy who replaced the tire came in for his daily lunch pick up.

And, as usual, had a snide remark to make about putting tires on backward.

I told him, “Next time you come in, I’ll tell you how to put one on upside down.”

That generated some laughter from him and a few others standing around listening to our conversation.

And it was the last time I heard anyone make a comment about a backward tire.

It was all in good fun, no harm was meant. Just teasing among a town full of friends.

Any one of those people would have been at my side at any time, if needed.

All I had to do was call for them.

I sure miss that place and the people of that town.

 Now tell me…..

What memory can you share that always brings on a smile?

🙂

12 comments on “What Makes Me Smile – Memories

  1. I was cleaning this morning and found a dog tag that had both my brother’s and my father’s name on it. They’re both deceased now but knowing that they were close enough and spent enough time together to warrant having both names on one dog tag made me smile really big.

  2. That was funny, Becky. We all have those little places in small towns where everyone gets together. It’s fun to go and listen to all the gossip. Well, I can’t think of a memory on the spur of the moment, but I’m sure I have many. Speaking of memories, I just posted my second post on Recording Our Memories on my blog. “Say Cheese” it’s about photos this week.

  3. That is one of those timeless memories I think that just don’t go away. Thanks for sharing that with us. I lost my dad 3 years ago and it still hurts some today but memories are what helps keep me goings to thank you for helping me to remember.

  4. I think my favorite memory might be the look on my 3-year old daughter’s face when we brought her baby brother home from the hospital. We had spent a lot of time talking about the baby. Just as she looked at him for the first time, he stretched his arm and yawned. The look on her face was priceless! She turned to her father and said, “He’s weel (real)”

  5. Our family visits Branson, MO quite a lot. Up until last year there was an amusement park called Celebration City. 50’s music was played throughout the park. There was one particular space in the park that Grandson #2 and I would always “have a dance”. It didn’t matter how many people were around – we always stopped there for a little dance. I think most boys his age would have cringed at the idea of dancing with their grandmas in public. If the park were still open I’m sure we’d still be having a dance there every time we visited.

  6. That town sounds a lot like our town.

    I smile when I think back on all the adventures that the Spinster & I had when we owned our own sign business. We had a thing where people would hire us to go and fill an unknowing friend or family member’s yard with pink flamingos in the middle of the night. We had a blast doing that and trying not to get caught…or arrested. 🙂

  7. The first memory that came to mind was telling Mamaw Byrdiy about the Bill Ingval comedy. The part where they are trying to sell Bill and his wife a hot tub and the salesman (Bob) says its free and Bill says, ” Well put it in the truck Bob!” Mamaw laughted for atleast 15 minutes repeating, “Put it in the truck Bob!” Makes me giggle everytime I think about it!

  8. honestly, most of my memories make me melancholy, even though they truly are good ones!

    just feeling a little too Ecclesiastes right now . . .

    thank you for sharing your story; it made me smile!

    🙂

  9. Becky-your memory made me smile 🙂

    Thinking back to funny things my girls said when they were little always makes me smile. Chatter once ask me “momma when your legs fill up then where does the water you drink go” still makes me smile!

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

