Saucy Sunday – Peach Cobbler

Peaches are one of my favorite fruits.

So in my search for the perfect peach dessert, I found this recipe for peach cobbler.

I must say that I’ve never been a fan of any kind of cobbler. And maybe because everyone always put milk or cream over it before serving it to me.

I don’t like soggy crust.

But this is simply delicious.

The ingredients are peaches, sugar, unsalted butter, flour, baking powder, salt and milk.

The full recipe and ingredient amounts are listed at the bottom of this post.

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

Add peaches, half the sugar and water in a saucepan and mix well.

pchcbler1

 Bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes. And remove from heat.

Add the butter in a deep baking dish and put in oven to melt.

In a bowl, mix other half of sugar, flour, baking powder and salt. Add milk slowly, stirring to prevent clumping.

Pour the mixture over the melted butter. DO NOT MIX.

pcbcblr2

 Spoon fruit on top, gently pouring in syrup.

pchcblr3

 And bake.

pchcblr4

If you like peaches, you’ll love this cobbler.

I did.

And I don’t care much for cobbler.

Peach Cobbler

4 cups peaches, peeled and sliced

2 cups sugar

1/2 cup water

8 Tablespoons unsalted butter

1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2-1/4 teaspoons baking powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

1-1/2 cups milk

Preheat oven to 350F.

Combine peaches, 1 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup water in a saucepan; mix well. Bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside.

Put the butter in a deep baking dish and place in oven to melt. (I used a two quart oval baking dish)

In a bowl, mix remaining 1 cup of sugar, flour, baking powder and salt. Add milk slowly, stirring, to prevent clumping. Pour mixture over melted butter, DO NOT STIR.

Spoon fruit on top, gently pouring in syrup. Batter will rise to top during baking.

Bake for 30-45 minutes.

Serve with whipped cream, if desired.

10 comments on “Saucy Sunday – Peach Cobbler

  1. Yummy for my tummy! I love love love peach cobbler. Your recipe looks mmm mmmm good!.. My mother makes it from a recipe she learned from my Great…Great…Grandmother… I’ll have to try yours and compare….

    Sounds like i have some fun ahead of me…..

  2. Sounds good, Becky. That’s almost like the easy cobbler we make sometimes. We melt the butter in the dish and mix equal amounts of flour, sugar and milk together and pour over the melted butter and then top with your choice of fruit. Very quick and easy. Your finished product looks really good.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

