Saucy Sunday – Pineapple Upside Down Cake

Don’t you just love Pineapple Upside Down Cake?

paplupsidedwn1

I do!

But for some reason I don’t make it often. Which is probably a good thing. My hips already have too much hip!

My Mother made the best.

Here is how she made it.

Ingredients are one can of pineapple slices, one cake mix, eggs and vegetable oil. I usually use white cake mix. I just like it better.

First, spray a 9″x11″ pan with cooking spray.

Add a layer of brown sugar. How much you add really depends on how much you like brown sugar. I REALLY like brown sugar, so I add a generous layer.

Then lay your pineapple on top of the brown sugar. Saving the juice from the pineapple. Set aside.

 paplupsidedwn2

Preheat oven according to mix directions.

When preparing the cake mix, instead of water, measure the pineapple juice and add enough water to bring it up to the water required on the mix directions.

It gives the cake a pineapple taste, too.

Follow the mix directions, substituting the pineapple juice for the water.

Pour on top of the pineapple/brown sugar layers and bake according to the mix directions.

paplupsidedwn3

Let cool. Turn out onto a cake plate.

paplupsidedwn4

And if you’re lucky it won’t stick.

Cut and serve.

paplupsidedwn5

And while you are enjoying that tangy sweet taste, think of someone who made a difference in your life.

Like I think of how my Mother taught me to make this delicious and simple cake.

 

14 comments on “Saucy Sunday – Pineapple Upside Down Cake

  1. It looks yummy. I haven’t made one for years. I also made the cake from scratch, but the one I had only made a small 8 X 8 size, which was good, that way it didn’t set around and get too soggy. Plus when the kids were small they never cared much for it. I also like to stick a maraschino cherry in the center of the pineapple slices.

    I bet you could use any canned fruit that you like for an upside down cake.

    Enjoy with a glass of really cold milk.

  2. Yummie, I love pineapple upside down cake.. I will have a couple pieces please. I haven’t thought about making this in a while either… SO, i will put it on my to do list and I am going to use your recipe 🙂

  3. My husband loves this, but I always thought it was probably too hard to make, so I never have. You make it sound easy, so he might get lucky and I might actually make it. Thanks!

  4. How dare you! Dang it, Becky, that looks incredible! It’s 10:30 at night, up waiting for my kid to get off work and so needing a snack. I was ignoring it until now. wahhhh…….!

  5. oh, this looks wonderful. i love it, but have never made it, because i’m the only one in our family who would eat it.
    (fresh pineapple they’re all over, but in a cake? yuck, mom!)

    which is probably a good thing, because no, i don’t need to eat a whole cake my ownty self!

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

