Saucey Sunday – Marinated Cucumbers

Before I get started I wanna say….

HAPPY FATHER’S DAY TO ALL THE DAD’S OUT THERE!

I hope you have a great one.

This is an old time favorite. Cucumbers soaked in vinegar.

My parents and grandparents all enjoyed these.

And my Captain loves them too.

How fitting, a husband favorite posted for Fathers Day.

First of all, those of you who have gardens, go out and pick a couple of fresh cucumbers.

frshcukes

Bring them in and peel, rinse and slice them thin.

slcdcukes

Now here’s the ingredients….

     2     tablespoons sugar

3/4    cup white distilled vinegar

salt

pepper

    1     medium size cucumber

I make it in a quart-size mason jar. I mix the vinegar, sugar, salt and pepper until disolved.

cukevngr1

Then add the cucumbers and let sit in the refrigerator. It usually takes a couple of days for them to be fully marinated.

cukevngr2

Then get a fork and enjoy!

11 comments on “Saucey Sunday – Marinated Cucumbers

  1. I make mine close to that too. I put in some celery salt. We’ve been eating cucumbers like crazy!
    Happy Father’s Day to the captain!

  2. When I make them I also use a sweet onion. My Mother makes what she calls refrigerator pickles. Pretty much the same as your recipe, except more sugar, then I believe she heats the mixture pours over the thinly sliced cucumbers in a mason jar, then seals and sticks in the frig. Ready to eat in a day or so, and they are delicious.

    Yes tell the man in your life, Happy Father’s Day

  3. We don’t have cucumbers yet. Can you believe how high they are in the store, and in just a few weeks we’ll probably have them coming out of our ears (so to speak). We always just put them in a mixture of water and vinegar.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

