Saucy Sunday – Buttermilk Biscuits

I made the mistake of making buttermilk biscuits.

btrmlk1

Instead of drop biscuits for breakfast. The Captain has determined he likes these better.

btrmlkbskt1

And if you make rolled out on a floured board biscuits…

Don’t throw away the leftover dough. Stick it in between the biscuits on the baking sheet.

btrmlkbskt2

It makes neat little biscuits that the kids love.

btrmlkbskt3

I have to admit that I think I like buttermilk biscuits better, too. It’s like eating a Cracker Barrel. They are delicious.

btrmlkbskt4

So I guess I have found some use for buttermilk. Since I am not drinking spoiled milk.

My Mom and Brother loved drinking buttermilk. Or eating it poured over cornbread.

I can’t stand the stuff.  Except in biscuits.

How about you?

14 comments on “Saucy Sunday – Buttermilk Biscuits

  1. Yummie I want a biscuit 🙂 I don’t care for milk at at let alone spoiled milk..lol but I to admit I would eat a biscuit made with it..go ahead and pass me one and a lil butter please!

  2. MMM….yummy biscuits!! No, I do not like buttermilk except for baking. Did you know there is buttermilk powder that you buy in the baking section and store in the refrigerator? It lasts MUCH longer than buttermilk. Not sure how it compares to using the buttermilk–I used it once in a recipe that had called for the buttermilk powder and it was a recipe that I have not made before so I couldn’t compare it. Okay..well I hope I didn’t confuse you too much! Have a sweet Sunday!

  3. Once again, a homemade item that looks delicious. Lots of butter and honey Or sausage gravy poured over a couple, if I have the sausage gravy, I always like a few dill pickle slices to eat along with it. When we go to Bob Evans, I always ask for some dill pickles, but from what I can remember, they have spears not slices.

  4. My husband drinks buttermilk, but not me. I just made buttermilk biscuits for Sunday dinner! With the left over dough I’ll either make little tiny biscuits or twirl it around in braids or different shapes. My husband likes the little pieces.

  5. Back in the day, when I was way, way younger my daddy would periodically offer to pay me 5 bucks to drink a small glass of buttermilk, maybe a 4 or 5 ounce glass. Five bucks was a lot of money 50+ years ago. He never had to pay me. I could never get past the smell and no way was it worth the money to drink it and then throw up… My fear of bouncing it was much stronger than what all I could get with the money. But, dang, it makes good biscuits. Who woulda thunk it?

    Helen

  6. Hate buttermilk but oh the recipes that use it make me feel close to heaven ie. Red Velvet Cake…. ahhhh.

    Have spent the last 20 minutes wandering around your blog. Can’t stop, must do laundry, must stop…. I’ll be back.

  7. I would love your recipe! I don’t know why, but biscuits are something at which I’ve been a complete and utter failure, much to the disappointment of my husband, who is from the deep south (I’m not and biscuits were not an art I was taught at home!) and whose mother and grandmother both had it perfect and never made a bad batch. I want mine to look like yours! (Love your blog, don’t know how in the world I found it, though! Think I’ll link yours to mine!)
    XOXO
    Joni

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

