Saucy Sunday – Stromboli

Have you ever ate Stromboli?

It is delicious.

I decided I wanted to try it. And I’m glad I did.

To begin with, I went to the Chickens in the Road blog and got Suzanne’s Grandmother Bread recipe that she was so kind to share with us.

I followed her recipe to the first rise point, then kneaded, cut in half and rolled out onto a floured surface. About 1/2″ thick, 15″ long and 12″ wide. Just use your own judgement. It needs to be wide enough to lay the filling down the center and fold the sides over and seal off.

While the bread was rising, I prepared the other ingredients……

I sliced one medium onion and one medium green bell pepper. Then saute’d them in butter in a large skillet until tender-crisp.

march-2-2009-044

My other ingredients included, ham, hard salami, pepperoni and shredded mozzarella cheese.

march-2-2009-049

The meats, I sliced into strips, like so. Just to make it easier to fill the bread with.

march-2-2009-055

After rolling out the dough, I added the onion mixture, meats and cheese. I also sprinkled with Italian seasoning, garlic powder and pepper.

Then folded the sides over, pinched to seal the sides and ends. Rolled it over onto a greased cookie sheet.

Brushed with beaten egg, sprinkled with poppy seed and baked at 400F for 20 minutes. Until golden brown.

march-2-2009-0681

The funny thing about these is, my guys, The Captain and Boo, had never heard of stromboli. So while I was making this they were stuffing themself with snacks. Saying, “I’m a little hungry, I’ll just have a little snack to hold me over until they are ready.” What they actually did, was fill themself up, just in case they didn’t like it, they wouldn’t go hungry.  They actually did like stromboli and were disappointed they couldn’t eat more.

HA!

Guess they have had too many of my experimentations.

Occasionally, I do run across a recipe that everyone likes.

march-2-2009-069

I served it with heated pizza sauce for dipping.

STROMBOLI

Start first, with Grandmother Bread. Follow that recipe through the first rise, knead and cut in half. Then roll out on a floured board to 1/2″ thick, 15″ x 12″ rectangle.

    1     Medium onion, sliced and separated into rings

    1     Medium green bell pepper, sliced into rings

    1     Tbsp. butter

1/2    pound thinly sliced hard salami

1/2    pound thinly sliced ham

1/2    pound shredded mozzarella cheese

1/2    pound thinly sliced pepperoni

1/2    tsp. Italian seasoning

1/4    tsp. garlic powder

1/8    tsp. pepper

     1    egg, beaten

     1    tsp. poppy seed

In large skillet, saute onion and green bell pepper in butter until tender-crisp; set aside.

Add meats, cheeses, onion mixture and spices to center. Fold sides over, seal sides and ends.

Transfer to greased baking sheet. Brush with egg and sprinkle with poppy seed.

Bake at 400F for 15 – 20 minutes or until golden brown.

Cool 5 minutes before slicing.

Yield: 2 loaves, 8 servings each.

If you are pinched for time…

you can replace the homemade bread with 2 – 16 oz. loaves of frozen bread, thawed.

6 comments on “Saucy Sunday – Stromboli

  1. We have a pizza shop here in town that makes Strombolis plus they also make Calzones, we like the Strombolis the best, and they give us extra sauce for dipping. At $5.99 each, it’s easier to buy one, because they are so large, that one will feed both Abe and me along with a small salad or chips. We haven’t had one for a while, sounds good for lunch today, since we’ll be eating alone.

    Raining here today, turning colder and they said we might have some snow flakes later this evening. I guess March is going out like a lion.

    Have a great Sunday.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

