Corner Stander

A few years ago, The Captain and I were discussing our current state of financial distress.

There was something he needed and we didn’t have the extra money at the time.

Trying to figure out a way to come up with the needed funds, I jokingly suggested that I stand on a street corner.

His response floored me.

He simply said, “No one would pick you up.”

My chin hit the floor.

Surely I had heard him wrong.

“”WHAT, did you just say”, I asked.

I’m thinking, “No he didn’t!”

“He didn’t just say that!”

“To my face even!”

There’s an old saying, “Marry an ugly woman and she’ll never leave. Cause no one will want her.”

And that is the first thing that ran through my head after the instantaneous shock wore off.

I’m thinking, “I’m no beauty queen, but I ain’t ugly neither!!!”

I  know I’m not the best looking thing in town, but c’mon, looks are not exactly what a man is looking for when he picks up a corner stander. Right?

Talk about a blow to one’s self esteem.

He just stood there looking at me with the best poker face he’s ever produced.

He then finishes his sentence, “No one will pick you up with me standing right behind you!”

Yeah.

Good answer.

He got a little more than a love tap for that one.

And I give him he** for it every chance I get!

I’m sure he’s regretted making that wise crack on more than one occasion.

11 comments on “Corner Stander

  1. Woooheee… that boy be walking on thin ice!! Did make a decent recovery, though. Just in time to keep the dishes from flying at his head, though. Sounds like you all have too much fun with each other. Now you’re going to have to think of some way to get him for that glib remark.

    Thanks for the laugh.

    Helen

  2. Well he certainly did cover his own a** didn’t he. Probably afraid you might burn it while he’s sleeping. I thought for sure he was going to come up with something like, well when can you start? As a way to joke back with you.

  3. Sounds like something my husband would say.
    I was once offered a job as a bar tender.
    He said he would have to sit in the bar to make sure no wierdo’s tried to follow me home.

  4. That was down right mean! Of course, I’m used to mean remarks from my husband……that is the only kind he makes. Sometimes I feel like just walking away from it all. I don’t have a very good attitude about men because of my husband………and you’re thinkng why have I stayed with him for over 42 years……well, I’d like to know the answer to that one too.

  5. Becky: Oh the things that slip between the lips with no thought given. I have to give Captain credit for coming up with the quick retort.
    I too often say things then later think why did you say that, stupid. Please don’t hit him too hard.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

