Saucy Sunday – Macaroni Salad

Happy Sunday Fencepost Teammates!

Let’s talk macaroni.

Macaroni salad that is.

My Mother was supposed to give me her recipe, but time got away from us both and her recipe is lost forever.

I began to research the internet, looking for something similar to what was in her salad, that I could remember.

I could never really come up with something just like hers. But I scanned over all those recipes and put together my own.

Of course it’s not as good as Mom’s. Nothing ever is. But it is good. Atleast my daughter thinks so.

macsalad12

To begin with, cook one 16-oz. box of macaroni, (or  rotini, in this case) and hard boil four eggs. Drain, peel and set aside to cool.

While your waiting for the cooling to take place…

dice two celery ribs, one tomato and half a medium onion. Shred one half cup of carrots.

macsalad2

Set aside.

Once the eggs are cooled, dice them and set aside.

macsalad3

Once all the draining, cooling and dicing is completed. Add all ingredients to large bowl.

Add salt, pepper and onion powder, to taste. Mix completely.

Add one and one half cups of salad dressing or mayo and stir completely.

And you’ve got macaroni salad.

macsalad4

Chill, preferably overnight. Gives it time for the flavors to marry.

 

Fencepost’s Macaroni Salad

 

        1    16 oz. box elbow macaroni, cooked, drained, cooled

   1/2    medium onion, diced

        2    celery ribs, diced

        1    tomato, diced

    1/2    cup shredded carrot

1-1/2    cups salad dressing or mayonnaise

        4    eggs, boiled, cooled, diced

               salt, pepper, onion powder to taste

Combine all ingredients and chill. Preferably overnight.

9 comments on “Saucy Sunday – Macaroni Salad

  1. Sounds good. I don’t use celery or carrots. I just use cherry tomatoes cut in half, some sweet pickle relish, little green onion, a dab of prepared mustard, a sprinkle of sugar, and Miracle Whip salas dressing. I sometimes use celery seed. I never use eggs, one kid won’t eat salad with eggs. Sometimes I also throw in some diced sharp cheddar cheese.

    By the way, you do know that if you want eggs to peel easy, they have to be an older egg. Fresh ones are almost impossible to peel. After I bring them to a full boil, I cover them and turn off heat, let set for about 20 to 22 minutes, then I pour off the hot water and ran cold water over them. Sometimes if I’m in a hurry, I even add ice to the water cooling them. The yolk stays nice and yellow looking longer. Apparently the longer they set in the hot water, the darker the yolk around the edges, gets, I’ve read that’s what causes it to look greenish sometimes.

    I think your Tuna and Mac salad sounds yummy, I saw it at another post.

  2. Yummy!
    I don’t use carrots. I do sprinkle in a little celery seed as well as the celery.
    Reading Patti’s comment I’ll add that if you put salt in your water when you boil the eggs the shells will come off fairly easy.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

