I Didn’t Because…

One morning in March of 2007…

I got up and got ready for work. Got Boo up and ready for school. Dropped him off at school and drove back home to eat breakfast. Eight a.m. was too early to arrive at work, since work started at 9:30 am. This was to be the first time they trusted me with keys. My first time opening the store.

I had put a load of clothes in the washer and went about my business. A little later, I heard a strange noise coming from the washroom. I went to investigate. We had been having trouble with the washer and had the front off the washer, at the bottom where the motor was. I bent down and looked. Too dark. I went and got a flashlight and got down on one knee to look.

That’s when I felt a sharp pain in my left hip and my whole left leg stiffened up as if I had a charlie horse. And that is exactly what I thought it was. A charlie horse. The pain was terrible. I kept walking through the house, trying to work it out. Nothing was helping.

I tried to call my boss to let him know I was having a problem.

 No answer.

I tried to call The Captain to let him know and just in case something happened he would know what to relay to someone in the medical field.

 No answer.

The more I walked, the worse it hurt. It was time to go to work, I had to leave. I tried to call The Captain again in case I fell trying to manage the steps I had to descend to get to my truck.

No answer.

I get in the truck, drive to work, park as close to the front door as possible, open up and let the other girl prepare for opening the store. About a half an hour later, I get through to the boss and tell him I must leave and go to the doctor to find out what is wrong with my leg that is continually swelling. A half an hour later, he shows up, ready for work.

I finally get through to The Captain and tell him what is going on. I go to an urgent care center, not an emergency room. They immediately know what is wrong and sent me to a cardiologist.

Again, I am trying to get through to The Captain, to fill him in on my condition and tell him where I am going.

No answer.

I call his parents and make arrangement for them to get Boo after school and ask them to keep trying to get in touch with The Captain, I have to turn my cell phone off.

The doctor asks me to take off my shoe. I grabbed my shin to pull my leg up, because my leg is so swollen that I cannot bend it without help, and thought my leg would break into. The pain was that severe. At this point, I was unable to walk.

They performed an ultrasound and confirmed that I had a rather large blood clot in my left leg. I was sent immediately to the hospital.

All this walking across parking lots and doctor’s offices, and I had a blood clot. I could’ve dropped dead while walking OR driving.

I have only posted this because I had no idea what had happened to me that day. I thought I had pinched a nerve and caused a severe charlie horse.

Maybe somewhere, out there, in blogland, someone will read this. And maybe in the time of need they will recall this account and know to sit down somewhere, put their foot up and call someone.

I didn’t because I didn’t know any better.

I didn’t because I am a stubborn person that is determined to take care of myself.

I didn’t and I am thankful that God was watching over me.

In case you are wondering…

I am fine now. The bloodclot is gone. My leg will never be the same, but it doesn’t hold me back from the things I want to do.

It is a small price to pay, considering what could have happened.

11 comments on “I Didn’t Because…

  1. Wow! I often have weird, rather severe pains in my leg, and I wonder if they could be blood clots. I always tell my husband if I drop over, to have that looked int,o. But after reading this I know that is NOT what it is, so I feel better about that. And I WILL remember this for the future! I’m stubborn, too. And usually it isn’t a good thing.

  2. Oh My Goodness, I thought you were going to tell me you pulled your back out. Dang how scary that could have happened while you were just doing normal daily work.
    I am so glad you posted this, you never know who will read this and who it might help and possibly save a life.
    Glad to know you are better. Sorry about the leg but I can relate. I like to quote Toby Keith- “I ain’t as good as I once was” LOL Have a great day 🙂

  3. Holy Cow! I just knew you were going to say a spider or a snake or something came out of the motor of the washing machine and bit you. A darn blood clot. Any symptoms before this sudden onset of pain? Good grief!! Praise God you are fine now.

  4. Wow, I guess you better listen to your body the next time. Glad everything went as well as it did for you. Yes it could have had a horrible ending. Glad it was a happy one. Hope the leg will get completely better with time. Have a wonderful week-end.

  5. Oh man. I would not have guessed a blood clot. You are very very lucky and I am glad that you made it to the dr. in time. But it sounds as though you were trying your best to get someone by phone and no one was answering. Can’t say I wouldn’t have done the same thing myself. Stubbornness must be a common trait.

  6. Becky: Oh my; here we are both having problems at the same time. I’m glad you are better my friend.
    I’m only doing a few visits but I really wanted to stop and see you. Take care of yourself and I will catch up later. Thanks so much for the card.

  7. Becky-wow how very scary! I didn’t even know a blood clot could present itself like that! I’m so glad you were o.k. and glad you’ve shared your experience so others might realize what’s going on if it happens to them!

  8. Becky, I did miss this post. That was good thinking on your part to share this…….I am so glad you survived it…….yes….God certainly was watching over you…….

    Bless you, my friend.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

