Glass House Nightmare

Several years ago, The Captain drove an 18-wheeler over the road for a local trucking company.

And occasionally, I went along.

You know what it’s like to take a long trip by car and have to “go”.

Normally, I am one capable of holding “it” for long periods of time without complaint.

But this time, I had to “go” really bad.

We were on a long stretch of highway with no emergency exits in sight. It was dark, rainy and just not suitable for pulling off to the side of the road.

The bouncing and movement of the truck was not helping  me hold “it” either.

By the time we came upon a rest area, I was miserable.

By the way, when I was a child, my Dad called these “glass houses”.  Anyone else ever heard of a rest area being called a glass house?

Just curious.

I was cramping so bad I couldn’t stand up straight. It was a long haul to the restroom and I was praying I could hold “it” long enough to get inside.

Glass houses are known to be unsafe. You’ve heard the news reports of people being assaulted at these places.

 The Captain had to stay with the truck, so I had to make this long, dark trip by myself. I was worried for my safety.

I was in no condition to fight off an assailant.

I would have had to pee all over myself or take a beating.

Stop, right there.

Don’t you do it!

You did, didn’t you?

I know.

It’s too late. You can’t help yourself, right?

You are imagining me peeing all over myself, aren’t you?

Stop it!

Just so you know, I DID make it to the restroom in the nick of time WITHOUT a need to defend myself.

But the whole way I was thinking to myself, “If someone confronts me and I feel the need to defend myself, I’m gonna have to let go right then and there.”

“They’re gonna think I was so scared I peed myself.”

And you know me. My motto is “Never let ’em see you sweat!” (or pee)

As if I wasn’t mad enough because they were attempting an assault on my person…..

They were interrupting my emergency trip to the big girls room……

And I had to “let go” just to defend myself.

Me thinking that they are thinking they caused me to pee myself out of fear, would put the icing on the cake.

I probably would have been their worst nightmare!

Boy, were they lucky that night at the glass house.

Hell hath no fury, than a woman that’s gotta “go”!

9 comments on “Glass House Nightmare

  1. Yeah…sure you made it to the bathroom on time and didn’t pee down your leg…uh huh! 🙂
    I’m not good at holding it at all – I think I may have the world’s smallest bladder.

  2. You know you bring up the inequities of it all, if you were a man you could have just pee’d on the attacker!

    Fun post and I have been in these situations before and understand how you must have felt!

  3. Hilarious, I was right there with you, but the one laughing (sorry)
    We become fearless when we have to be and if you would have been interrupted…I too would have felt sorry for anybody you would have gone Ninya on.

    I have never understood why they keep those places so dark. Esp the parking lot to the building? Some have security, but I ask WHERE R THEY, I never see them?

    Haven’t heard them called glass houses before..I can see it, because-every body knows the business you might be fix’in to do.LOL

    My Grandfather use to call the glove box in the car a pigon hole…ever heard that one?

  4. Never heard of it being called a glass house. I was feeling the pain right along with you while reading your story. I had the same thing happen, but it was on an airplane. I wasn’t about to unfasten my seat belt to go to the john. Let’s just say, I’m glad I had carry on luggage, and also a compartment that was empty and lined in plastic for my damp clothes. No big puddle, but by the time the line at the rest room, got to me, I had a very slow leak that I couldn’t stop. Coming home I was prepared after making a stop a the pharmacy. Because, once again, after being strapped into my seat, I wasn’t about to budge until that plane landed. Happy week-end.

  5. Becky you are something else!
    I smiled all the way through this – just imagining and at the same time putting myself in those positions where you wonder how long you can hold it!
    Fun post!

  6. I’ve never heard them called Glass Houses-but I hate to use them! I’m always afraid of being attacked or robbed or both! I agree when you gotta go you gotta go no matter where!

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

