Team Fencepost Request – Interview 3

Happy Friday, Team Fencepost!

It’s that time again!

Interview question #3.

What is the best advice that you were ever given and by whom?

My Dad didn’t think he was an intelligent person.

And maybe he wasn’t.

Of course, I thought he was. I guess every child thinks their parents are better than any other human being that ever graced their presence.

mydad 

And my oldest son was no different.

One time he asked me a question that I didn’t have an answer to. He didn’t believe that I didn’t know the answer.

He said, “You’re a Mom, you’re supposed to know everything.”

That shocked me and made me smile

It made me realize that my child thought I was the one who hung the moon. He actually thought I had intelligence.

WOW!

My Dad gave me this advice that has stuck with me and it has become a constant in my life.

“Keep your mouth shut and your ears open. Then you’ll know what the other guy knows and what you know. And you’ll be smarter than him.”

Because of this advice, I have learned a lot.

And because of this advice I have been taken the wrong way. People don’t get me because I don’t talk a lot. Well, until I get to know you, by “listening”.

I listen to find out what we have in common to talk about.

But then there are times when I run across a person that is quiet like me and I’m stuck in an awkward position.  I love getting to know people. So I start asking questions. Call it being nosey or curious, whatever you like. But I love meeting people, from all places and backgrounds. Which is why I am loving this blog so much. I am getting to know my teammates.

Or, they think I’m snobby. Which really gets under my skin. I am not one to judge a person. I accept people for who they are. And I expect the same.

Being snobby would not even be considered as a description of myself. Actually, I am the opposite.

I did not take my Father’s advice to mean that I should be smarter than others. And I don’t think he meant it that way.

I took it to mean, to learn from others.

For instance…

I learned a lot about automobiles and how they work, by listening to my Dad and others talk about working on vehicles. And watching what they were doing every chance I got.

No, I’m not a mechanic. But I can do the basic things like changing oil and tires and such. And I can figure most things out, like you read in this post.

But it did get my foot in the door in the auto industry, which is where I have worked for the last several years.

Now that you’ve had another peek into my world.

Tell me…

What is the best advice you were ever given and by whom?

And if you feel like it…

tell me how you have applied it to your life.

12 comments on “Team Fencepost Request – Interview 3

  1. “Life is too short to get all bent out of shape over the small stuff.”

    I do not remember him actually saying those exact words to me, but it is more that I have learned it while watching him live his life every day. He has had a very hard life, but you would never know it. Being able to laugh at the little inconveniences in life rather than fly off the handle has helped me to get through the big challenges with a lot more peace.

  2. “This too shall Pass” “You will see it won’t kill you ..it will only make you stronger”..were my mothers sayings for tough times. That many times I have applied it to my life and others that were having difficult times. I find myself chanting these when I am facing something. Proof I am still kicking and the sayings are so true. And to think I use to just roll my eyes when she would say this to me.
    She still is my Super Woman at 71 years young!!!

  3. ps I am extremely shy too, till I get to know others. But, that is why I LOVE the internet with my cloath of computer armour I can conquer that fear and speak freely. : – )

  4. I was told”If you don’t do anything, you won’t do anything wrong”
    At the time I worked on a ranch with a very hard working lady that I have allot of respect for. She would often plow into something & sometimes things would get broken. On the other hand she got allot accomplished, that other people would just sit back & say “I can’t do that”

  5. “Choose your battles carefully”

    In my younger days, I wanted everything to be right. I held on far too tightly to things that really didn’t matter. As I matured, I finally discovered that not every battle is worth it. Fight like Hell for the important ones, and learn which ones they are.

  6. Nice tribute to your Dad. My Grandfather actually gave me the best advice as a young lad by explaining the golden rule, “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” Blue Skies Becky.

  7. Hmmm….I have a few things that my parents and grandparents have said to me that seem to have stuck but the one thing that stands out in my mind the most right now is something my Dad said one time. “If you don’t have enough money to buy with cash — you shouldn’t buy it with a credit card.” To this day…I don’t use credit cards!

  8. Becky-loved reading about your Dad’s great advice. Pap has given me so much advice-and really made me who I am today. But the one thing that jumps to my mind now-is when something upsetting or bad happened he always urged me to calm down and study on it-because what ever had happened usually wasn’t as bad as I was thinking. In other words -be patient and maybe it’ll still work out alright.

  9. My mom… If you can’t say something nice about someone don’t say anything at all.

    Sometimes it’s really hard to do because of someone gettin’ on my last nerve, but her advice really has helped me keep a positive outlook on people and life.

    Great question!

    Helen

  10. Becky: The best advice was from my Dad and he said “Don’t smoke”. His reason was because it was a waste of money and it turned out that there was a much better reason. Thank God with the problems I’m going through that I never did smoke.

  11. First, I love this advice. I tell my children almost the same thing: “You learn more when you mouth is closed than when it is open.” Or, “you learn more by listening than talking.” I know because it seems my personality is similar to yours (and I’ve had plenty accuse me of being snobby). I listen more than I talk… a LOT more, and I see how valuable that has been to me.

    The best advice anyone every gave me was when my mother was rapidly declining and my dad was sort of falling apart with the care of her, I was going to bring my mother to live with us–14 hours away from the rest of the family–to help my dad AND her. My parents’ best friends told me my family was young and needed me. My mother’s life was ending, and if I had her there, all my focus would be on her and my young family would not get what they needed from me. It was a tough thing to do, but I know leaving my mom in my dad’s care was the best thing for my family, if not for my parents. I grew up respecting my elders, but there is a time when if a choice must be made, it must be for the family that is your own, not where you came from. I don’t regret it. I spent as much time as I could with my mother before she died. I DID have her stay with me 2 weeks at a time, but not permanently.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

