Land of Plenty

Yesterday, I went to work just like normal. Up and at it. Get Boo off to school and hit the big road.

Now mind you, I have a decent job. The pays okay. Not gonna get rich, but it helps with the everyday stuff.

Working with people I really like. We share jokes and the troubles of home.

Help eachother out with things.

You know…

Have you ever…

Oh yeah, I had that happen once. And this is how I handled it…

Look out for each other. Covered for eachother.

The way things should be.

I arrived at work at 8:30 am.

And at 9:30 am I was informed that I no longer have a job to get up and go to each morning.

Yes, the dreaded lay-off.

I have joined the ranks of millions and millions to come, so it seems.

It has hit home.

The company I work for is not a big company, so there’s only so much they can do before they close the doors permanently.

My job was not the only one effected. Major pay cuts were put into place. And there may be more lay-offs coming.

Losing my job effected my co-workers by showing them how close to home this recession is getting.

They are all worried about their jobs. As we all have been for some time now.

In my opinion, and others agree…

That if the government is gonna help anyone, it should be the working class.

After all, we are the ones who worked hard for the money that made the rich richer.

Not to say they didn’t work hard to get where they are, but they need to remember there is a whole country full of people still working and hoping to get to the top.

This recession has shattered a lot of those dreams.

America is considered the land of plenty.

And it was.

But now is the time to stop giving it away over seas and start handing it out here!

The other day I noticed, near the interstate, there is a triangular wooded area. It is the area between the interstate ramps.

There were cardboard boxes and tarps tacked to trees and a small camp fire.

There is obviously someone living there in the cold.

It makes me sad to think that each night I go to bed in a warm, dry house, while this person shivers in the cold night air.

And it makes me sad to think there may be more people losing their homes and living in the streets.

I don’t understand how things can be plentiful and then it all starts crashing.

Beginning with the price of fuel.

I know there’s more to it than that. But it seems that’s when it started falling apart.

America, we need to pray like we’ve never prayed before for the peace and prosperity of our nation.

And hope that our new leader can do something about it.

SOON!!!

11 comments on “Land of Plenty

  1. I’m so sorry this has happened to you and your family. I can only hope that you might be able to apply for unemployment. I to worry about the people living out in this kind of weather and every night I say my thanks for having a warm place to sleep and food to eat. I have said for a long time, we should be taking care of our own, before we start sending so much money and things out to others. That may sound selfish, but after all, we should think of our own first. As Ben Franklin said, God helps those that helps themselves.

  2. I’m so sorry to hear this Becky.
    I agree that the working class should be where help goes but it doesn’t seem that’s the case.
    This stimulus plan when you look at has lots of money going to projects cities want to do – here in WV the money is earmarked for a road here a bridge there. That is not helping the everyday family or making jobs for those who have none.
    Sending thoughts and prayers your way.

  3. I’m so sorry that you lost your job. We are all worried about jobs and such right now. My youngest daughter is struggling to find work after finishing college. It is a very tough time to job hunt and pretty scary out there for lots of people. I hope things look up soon for you but you are right about at least having a home and food. There are so many homeless right now. It’s sad.

  4. Oh Becky-I’m so sorry you’ve joined me in the job layoff world. I too am so worried about our country-and it seems those in charge are so disconnected from the everyday people they can’t figure it out. I’ve shared with you before-how hard hit our area has been. Stores are still closing-plants are still laying off. I just don’t know what some people will do-and like you I’m thankful I still have a warm place to stay.

  5. I am sorry to hear you have lost your job! But I am a big believer in “good things happen to good people” and i am sure something will turn up for you.

  6. I’m so sorry about your job.
    it is so wrong for them to take our hard earned mony & give it to big corporations to buy jets & buy out smaller companys.
    Something is definatly wrong with this picture!

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

