Team Fencepost Request – Smoke

Hello, Fencepost Teammates!

It’s that time again.

We, here at the Fencepost, have a request.

See what The Captain got for Christmas…

smkr1 

Yep. A smoker/cooker.

 He sat on Santa’s lap and whispered in his ear.

And this is what he got.

smkr2

Although, I know he requested a beautiful, young blonde. 🙄

Santa knew better.

See, me and Santa, we’re pals from waaaay back. I’m on his GOOD list.

He knows The Captain couldn’t get a better partner than moi.

So whether The Captain knows it or not, he got something better than a dumb ole blonde (no offense!). He gets to keep this bodacious brunette for yet another year.

And, although he’ll ask for a blonde year after year, he’ll get a brunette instead. And he’ll be happy. 😉

Unless, of course, I decide to get out a bottle of peroxide, and put it to use. But that would be more than The Captain could handle.

Me.

 And blonde. 😯

Too much happiness! He couldn’t withstand the bliss.

For those of you who don’t know us well…

The blonde thing is an ongoing joke between The Captain and I.

😛

Sorry, I got a little off track and started chasing rabbits.

Back to the Fencepost request.

The Captain got a smoker for Christmas. By request.

smkr3

We have never used a smoker before. But we have enjoyed smoked delicacies from restaurants.

So in an effort to eat healthier and save money by not dining out…

We have this.

smkr4

Our request is…

Have any of you ever used a smoker?

Could you give us ideas, recipes and tips, relating to using this smoker?

Yeah, I could research it on the net. But I thought I would see what you guys could come up with first.

Since you’re my Teammates, I trust you.

Soooo…….

C’mon Teammates!

I know you are willing to share your most prized family secrets! 

Oh, there goes another rabbit.

Gotta go.

But I’ll be back to check on those tips and recipes.

P.S. HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

13 comments on “Team Fencepost Request – Smoke

  1. Oh Becky that smoker looks so great. OK so the only experience we have with one is that my husband has a Little Chief smoker and he tried several times to smoke various things over the years. Sorry to say they all taste like a dried out brick so we can’t be of any help. It now resides in our attic. I hope others have tips and recipes. Maybe it would rub off on us.

  2. You are gonna have some great food with that smoker!!! Because I am blonde and I enjoy your post, I’ll let that slip, after all it is the New Year and we wouldn’t want to start off with an attitude, now would we? LOL!

  3. Wanted to stop by and wish a Happy New Year to you and yours. Wish I could help with your request, but never used one of the those types before. Awesome present. Expect that you will get some good suggestions from the brain trust. Blue Skies.

  4. Sorry Becks… as you know from reading my blog, my forte is eating food, not cooking. I’ll have to see if I can get some tips from my baby brother. He smokes a lot. He smoked pork loin, pork chops, beef ribs, chicken breasts and turkey breasts for Christmas supper for the masses this year. If you want a good Bar-B-Que sauce I’ve got that recipe from him. I do know that both he and my niece’s husband, who smokes even better than my brother, both say to use dry rubs on your meats.

    Sorry, but that is all the help I can give you… for now.

    Helen

  5. Becky: No help here, I wish I could. I do wish you many a great meal and a lot of fun in 2009 with the cooker. At least he got something ‘SMOKIN HOT”, that was part of his request.

  6. I just smoked a huge mess of ribs for our New Year’s Feast!

    We just use some seasoned salt, a little garlic powder, and lots of pepper–rub it in, let it sit overnight (in the fridge), rinse it off in the morning, and let the meat come up to almost room temp before putting in the smoker.

    We like hickory chips, apple wood, and even cherry (I hear) smokes up yummy!

    have fun with your new toy! It’s so SHINY!!

  7. I’m weird. I don’t like smoked meat. It reminds me of eating something that you pulled out of a burning house. But that’s just me. I do on the other hand LOVE fried turkey. I haven’t had it in years though.

  8. Hi Becky,
    I’m anxious to see if anyone has some real good ideas. Santa got my Hubs a smoker too. His is a little different type (one you can also make jerky and the like in). He run it and made sure it works and we bought a chicken today to smoke.
    I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

