Handmade Treasures

When I was in fourth grade, a fellow classmate taught me how to finger knit.

fngrknt

During the morning break, all of us girls would sit together in a circle and finger knit. All the way up until Christmas. Then one of the girls took it all home and sewed it together and presented a rug to the teacher for Christmas.

I never forgot how to do this. I even taught my Mother how.

fngrkntcoil

About the only thing I found to do with it over the years was to tie it in a bow around a pony tail or use like tinsel on the Christmas tree. Some sort of decoration.

Until a couple of years ago, I got the bright idea to wrap it around a cone shape and make a Christmas tree out of it.

rdgrntree

Once I did that, the ideas for the tree kept coming.

I added battery operated lights to some.

And miniature ornaments.

miniornmnt

ministar

And miniature presents.

miniprsnt

I’ve made themed trees. For instance, all angels or snowmen.

I’ve taught other people to finger knit and make Christmas trees.

And I”ve given numerous ones away as gifts.

And I’ve received them back as gifts from people I’ve taught. Like this one, from one of my favorite teenagers.

mnkystree

I love receiving, as much as giving, handmade treasures.

rdtree

Do you make handmade treasures to give as gifts?

Do you like receiving handmade treasures as gifts?

Have you ever heard of finger knitting? If so, do you know how? And what do you use it for?

8 comments on “Handmade Treasures

  1. Becky: My grandaughter does this knitting. She made her aunt a mixed two colored one with a fuzzy yarn to be used as an accent kneck wear. It was a big hit and my other daughter in law wanted one so my daughter quicly made her one to match her coat. all you need is the fuzzy yarn or two to make them. They are very pretty.

  2. Yes, I love to craft.
    I’m running so late but I wanted to stop by and wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year filled with blessings.

    I’ll visit again as soon as the holidays are over and I’m back home.
    Take Care

  3. Becky-I have 2 trees like yours that Granny made for me! Yours are really pretty. I love all the ornaments you added-mine are just plain. I never thought about adding stuff to them.

    I do make things to give as presents. Seems this year I’ve made more than usual to help out with finances.

  4. Becky,
    I have never heard of finger knitting before. I agree with Dejoni that you need to show us how. Those trees are really cute. I love to make things and give as gifts as well as receive them. Nothing means more to me than something someone made with their heart.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

